Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Purple Cabbage & Pecan Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Purple Cabbage & Pecan Salad

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2003

      This past summer I invited Caryn and her husband Steven to a barbecue dinner in our garden. Caryn (of course) asked what she should bring. I (of course) said nothing. Caryn (of course) did bring something, she brought this salad. I took one spoonful, and after that I just basically parked the bowl in front of me and had 1 grilled chicken breast and 2 gallons of this salad for supper. Dessert? No thank you, I'll just have more salad. Since then I've had it several times in Caryn's house, and I adore it. I'm so pleased she posted this recipe here at Zaar, now I can have this salad anytime I like (I was running out of excuses why I kept inviting her family over for dinner on a constant basis. Caryn thinks it's because we're good friends, it's really because of this salad). I had half a purple cabbage in the fridge, and half a green cabbage, so I combined the two. And I double the pecans, they are my favorite part. I made this on a Friday afternoon for Saturday lunch, and Caryn very wisely suggested that I keep the salad, dressing and pecans separate and mix them just before serving. This is good advice and you should all take it! Caryn, I love you dearly, but not as much now that I can make this myself! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2003

      This was wonderful. I used pre-packaged cole slaw mix, as I was pressed for time, and regular pecans - I have no clue as to where to get Chinese ones. This was so tasty and easy to prepare and the whole family gobbled it up. I also made your cauliflower kugel as a side dish, and roasted a sticky chicken -that was dinner, and I've never made a better one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2003

      This was really tasty! I was also unable to get the Chinese sweet pecans, so I made my own homemade sugared nuts, using a recipe on Recipezaar. This was quick and not only tasted great, but looked beautiful as well. Thanks - this is a real winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2003

      What more can you say than has been said. WOW !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2003

      This salad is very addictive. I love the flavors. Really easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2003

      This was SO good. I used purple cabbage and prepared some candied pecans (I don't know what Chinese pecans are). My sister and I ate it with some minestrone soup and cheddar bread for a Saturday afternoon lunch. Delicious. I will make this again and again. Todah Caryn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      its a winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2010

      OMG! This is truly delicious! I used apple cider vinegar and did half vegetable oil and half sesame oil. I toasted the pecans. Very good!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      Delicious! I found the dressing was a little overwhelming the first time I made this, and subsequently halved the amount (and further halved the sugar), and the salad tasted perfect. I'm also not sure what "chinese" pecans are, just used plain old "pecans", which worked well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2007

      We liked this salad a lot. Using sesame oil was a great suggestion! I used plain pecans, but threw in a handful of golden raisins for sweetness. With the golden raisins, the red cabbage, and the bright green scallions, the colors were very appealing! Thanks for the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2013

      I didn't have Chinese pecans but had praline pecans, so based on that, I added a few more "Chinese" spices to the dressing to compensate. I read many of the reviews which indicated they had halved the dressing, I did too and I'm glad I did.
      The additions to the dressing that I made were some ground ginger, ground cayenne pepper & toasted seasame seeds. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and used half canola oil & half sesame oil (also reduced the sugar by a little more than half). I used apple cider vinegar, which in hindsight would've been even better if I had used rice vinegar. Lastly, my head of cabbage was on the small side so I julienned a carrot and sliced some raw sugar snap peas. This finished dish was so pretty and tasty. I'm looking foward to making it as a side dish for Easter. This was delicious, I can't wait to make it again! I would also recommend (in additon to halving the dressing), leaving the pecans on the side until you're ready to serve.Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      The prep and recipe was easy and my nephew a child that dislikes a lot of veggies and different types of food liked it and ate ALL OF IT! I used fresh pecans and it was still yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      Made as directed, took to a July 4 party, raves all around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      My family loved this recipe! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      Wonderful! I used 1 head purple cabbage, slivered almonds, no onions and added a red bell pepper. I followed other reviewers and cut the dressing in half. Made for Think Pink Tag Game 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2009

    • on December 03, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I had no idea what Chinese pecans were so I just toasted mine with butter and sugar to crisp them up. Also used red onions because my scallions were a bit manky. This was fabulous and will be a staple in my house! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2008

      This is so fabulous! The dressing makes the salad, but it is easy and so tasteful. The dressing is perfect for any salad. I feel you must have the sugared pecans to make it complete; otherwise, the full taste is not there. Appreciation is given for a fine recipe. It never fails to get me a compliment when I use it in my catering. You are my "salad recipe hero", Caryn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Thank you, Caryn, this salad and it's dressing were teriffic! To make use of what I had on-hand, I used toasted slivered almonds instead of the pecans, and I added celery and cilantro to the ingredients. I combined the cabbage and celery with a bit of the dressing a couple of hours before serving (there was a LOT of dressing leftover which I'm happy to have for future use!). Just before serving, I put the salad on a bed of fresh spinach, placed small tomato wedges along the edges, and topped it with the almonds and cilantro. Beautiful colors, great textures, and one of the best salad dressings I have ever tasted! Lynnie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2007

      Absolutely wonderful and as a bonus I impressed my mother-in-law with a recipe she'd never tried! As suggested I also used sesame oil and we all loved the flavor. As for the pecans, I've used sweetened (from another sugar-coated recipe) and plain toasted pecans and I think the recipe is sweet enough on its own that I prefer the plain toasted. Just delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Purple Cabbage & Pecan Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (140 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 241.0
     
    Calories from Fat 150
    62%
    Total Fat 16.7 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 524.4 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 21.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 16.9 g
    67%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites