Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pupusas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pupusas

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2008

      This is such a fun recipe.. I've made it quite a few times and always forget to review it. My only change has been, a Tablespoon of lard added to the dough. That really helps this from drying out. I think our favorite fillings have been refried beans and cheese. (It's easier just to serve the refried beans on the side.) But we like just plain cheese with green onion too. It's really worth making curtido to serve with these! I really like, Curtido De Repollo - El Salvadorean Cabbage Salad Just a small note - I find it helpful keeping a small bowl of oil & adding a bit at a time, to my hand when I shape these. They might turn out funny looking if you never made Pupusas before. No big deal. It also might be nice to have someone help you make these. I always make a double batch now. I was sorry when I only made one batch. They are delicious! Along with the curtido, we like to serve this with hard tacos. Can't get better then that, on a lazy Sunday. Making them again today. This time with diced jalapeno and jack cheese. (Hopefully I remember to snap a pic!) Thanks for sharing the recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      I really like this recipe, the only changes I made is that I did a ratio of 1:1 on the masa and water. It was a little loose, but the end result was amazing. Also, I just couldn't master the putting the stuffing into the pocket and then closing it up, (perhaps because the dough was loose). So instead, I tossed a small ball of dough between oiled hands until flat, laid that down, added the filling on top, made another flattened ball of dough, laid that on top and then crimped edges and flattened the whole thing. I know it sounds like more work, but it ended up being easier for me, and they turned out perfect, with no leaks, (unlike my other ones).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2011

      We made these when my daughter had an assignment to make a food from El Salvador. These turned out very well and weren't difficult to make. Next time I would add plenty of salt, as a previous reviewer suggested. I don't usually like to add salt while I am cooking, but I added about 1/2 t to the batch of dough. I would definitely double and maybe even triple that. I think I should have tried to get more filling in as well. I didn't stuff them too full so that they were easier to keep together, but they would have tasted better if they were cheesier. The recipe is perfect, I just need to perfect my techniques! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2011

      This was a very good and filling meal! I have been experimenting with different foods from all over the world and this was a hit. My hubby loved it, he just wanted a little more spice in it since I just used canned refried beans and cheese. Next time I think I'm going to use spicy pork or something and give these even more substance!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2009

      Delish! I have tried making them before using "guesstimates" but they never came out right. My family absolutley loved them. In my culture, learning how to make pupusas is like learning how to make tamales. I have passed a big milestone! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      Delish! this was my first time making pupusas. They were so much easier than I had imagined. We had a 'make your own pupusa' night. I set up a bunch of stuffing ingredients and toppings and people added what they wanted to theirs and then I cooked them up. Served with curtido, avocados and tomatoes for the top and black beans and plantains for the side. Yumm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2008

      My husband is from Honduras, so I was anxious to try this out. I used some left over taco meat & cheese for the filling. It was really good. Great with salsa. I would add to make sure you put in enough salt, I didn't the 1st time. Also, make sure they are really flat. These were great! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      Never had pupusas before making yours, and I loved them. They are so versatile with endless filling options, and a real comfort food if you love the textures and tastes of polenta, fried cornmeal mush, or tamales. Love how they crisp up on the outside and stay soft inside.YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      Super Yummy, super fun to make w/ my son! We actually put lots of fillings in ours ~ tonight it was leftover chicken and roasted veggies w/ cheese. And cheese, green onions, and bacon. Great way to use up bits of leftovers, and they go great in the kid's lunchboxes too. Also ~ they can be reheated in the toaster!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2009

      I just got done pigging out on these. The kids and I saw these made on an episode of Sesame Street, and my 5 yo wanted to make them, so I was happy to find a recipe on here. We made ours with colby/jack, black beans, and diced tomato. I didn't have fresh cilantro, but I wish I had. These reminded me of a hand held tamale, with the soft corn middles. I did use a bit more water to make the dough, and used enough oil for the cakes to crisp up on the outside. I really liked them, husband ate one and didn't like the texture (not a tamale fan, either), and the kiddies ended up being too picky to eat more than half a piece. They were fun to make, and it was worth the time making something that interested my kiddo, so thanks very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2009

      These were great!! We followed Linaj's serving suggestion and used the curtido de repollo on top and refried beans on the side. We followed the recipe to a "t" and also found it helpful to use a small bowl of oil while shaping the pupusas. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Lunch/Snacks Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pupusas

    Serving Size: 1 (99 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 142.7
     
    Calories from Fat 15
    10%
    Total Fat 1.7 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 5.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 3.7 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mild cheese

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes