70 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Umm...yum! I have always loved these treats and finally decided to look it up and make it for myself. I used Corn Chex and scaled back on the butter just a little. Excellent! As other reviewers have mentioned, THIS IS MESSY, but worth it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice November 12, 2009

Just as I remember it from years ago! The changes I made were to use one 10oz bag of Enjoy Life chocolate chips, GFCF butter substitute, 1/2 peanut butter and 1/2 sunflower seed butter, and a box of Rice Chex. This made the recipe gluten and casein free. I used regular store-bought confectioners' sugar but if you are avoiding corn, you will of course want to make your own powdered sugar. AWESOME! Thanks for posting! (Beware: This can get very messy!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam N. September 26, 2009

Yes! This is the exact recipe I use- great stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Photo Momma September 16, 2009

I've been eating this stuff for years and finally had to look up the recipe. Best snack ever! Now I can make it and stop describing it to the unlucky few who've never tasted it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Novice Gourmet :) March 18, 2009

How can you go wrong with puppy chow? I made these for DD slumber party and they ate them down in jiffy. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour March 06, 2009

Made it for a party (to watch Puppy Bowl V on Animal Planet) and my guests loved it. Brought the left overs to work and it went fast as well. I used organic almond butter instead of peanut butter, and peanut butter chips. I think it would be DaBomb is mixed with pecans or other tree nuts as well. Have fun experimenting. I used a generic rice chex. This is messy, messy, messy -- but worth the trouble, in my book. My suggested use for the leftover powdered sugar? Sift out cereal bits, and add to your favorite drinking chocolate mix, with a dollop of cinnamon, for Mexican Hot Cocoa.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TxNewswoman February 03, 2009

If I could, I would give this 10 stars! This stuff is evil...once you start eating, you can't stop. I use rice chex instead of crispix. I also like to add peanuts to it. Super yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cat Loving Cook January 02, 2009

This is a great 'IDEA'. However, it makes quite a mess. I used Crispix cereal which ended up crumbling apart. Perhaps we'll try this again...but we'll use a different cereal like Chex. Thanks for sharing. But I think I'll stick to baking cookies for my children instead of covering my kitchen & dog in powdered sugar. lol Many Blessings.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Charlie Brown December 30, 2008

I loved this as a kid and thaks to this recipe I know I still do! Thank You

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoriLicious Treats December 04, 2008

my children love it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
super.nova_82 November 26, 2008
Puppy Chow Snack Mix