Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Puppy Chow Snack Mix Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puppy Chow Snack Mix

    Average Rating:

    69 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 69

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2001

      Great recipe. Easy to make. Used recipe for a tailgate party and had enough to bring to work. There will be no left overs for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      I only let myself make this once a year because I will eat it all. I melt the stuff in the microwave in a big plastic bowl and then mix in the cereal and then dump the powdered sugar on top. I then seal the lid really good and shake and roll the bowl around. It works really well to mix in the powdered sugar. This is awesome addicting stuff but a little messy. Enjoy! Merry Christmas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2013

      I've tried many different puppy chow

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      i tried this at a church function and it was the most delicious thing i had ever tried. My friend would bring me some whenever she made it and i am so happy to have the recipe. thanks :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2011

    • on December 25, 2010

      couldn't find this recipe in my old cookbooks, this one is just the same! thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      Sweet but awesome.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2009

      Just made this in matter of minutes to take to work tomorrow for our Christmas snack day. Just as I remembered as a child. YUMMY- Thanks for posting it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2009

      This is a classic snack mix and tastes great. Please be aware that despite the title and the suggestion to serve in a doggie dish, this is a snack meant only for people, not pets (chocolate is toxic to dogs). I use several flavors of Chex cereal in this instead of Crispix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2009

      Umm...yum! I have always loved these treats and finally decided to look it up and make it for myself. I used Corn Chex and scaled back on the butter just a little. Excellent! As other reviewers have mentioned, THIS IS MESSY, but worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Just as I remember it from years ago! The changes I made were to use one 10oz bag of Enjoy Life chocolate chips, GFCF butter substitute, 1/2 peanut butter and 1/2 sunflower seed butter, and a box of Rice Chex. This made the recipe gluten and casein free. I used regular store-bought confectioners' sugar but if you are avoiding corn, you will of course want to make your own powdered sugar. AWESOME! Thanks for posting! (Beware: This can get very messy!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Yes! This is the exact recipe I use- great stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2009

      I've been eating this stuff for years and finally had to look up the recipe. Best snack ever! Now I can make it and stop describing it to the unlucky few who've never tasted it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      How can you go wrong with puppy chow? I made these for DD slumber party and they ate them down in jiffy. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      Made it for a party (to watch Puppy Bowl V on Animal Planet) and my guests loved it. Brought the left overs to work and it went fast as well. I used organic almond butter instead of peanut butter, and peanut butter chips. I think it would be DaBomb is mixed with pecans or other tree nuts as well. Have fun experimenting. I used a generic rice chex. This is messy, messy, messy -- but worth the trouble, in my book. My suggested use for the leftover powdered sugar? Sift out cereal bits, and add to your favorite drinking chocolate mix, with a dollop of cinnamon, for Mexican Hot Cocoa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      If I could, I would give this 10 stars! This stuff is evil...once you start eating, you can't stop. I use rice chex instead of crispix. I also like to add peanuts to it. Super yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      This is a great 'IDEA'. However, it makes quite a mess. I used Crispix cereal which ended up crumbling apart. Perhaps we'll try this again...but we'll use a different cereal like Chex. Thanks for sharing. But I think I'll stick to baking cookies for my children instead of covering my kitchen & dog in powdered sugar. lol Many Blessings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      I loved this as a kid and thaks to this recipe I know I still do! Thank You

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      my children love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2008

      I love this stuff, my mom used to make it and I haven't made it in forever. Thanks for reminding me how great this stuff is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puppy Chow Snack Mix

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 701.0
     
    Calories from Fat 294
    42%
    Total Fat 32.7 g
    50%
    Saturated Fat 14.6 g
    73%
    Cholesterol 24.4 mg
    8%
    Sodium 459.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 101.2 g
    33%
    Dietary Fiber 3.9 g
    15%
    Sugars 69.4 g
    277%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes