Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Puppy Chow or Monkey Munch Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Puppy Chow or Monkey Munch

    Average Rating:

    171 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 171

    Sort by:

    • on April 30, 2010

      LOVE IT!!!! I've been making puppy chow on a fairly regular basis for longer than i'd like to admit:) A few tricks I've learned along the way; 1) instead of using a zip lock back, I put half or more of the powdered sugar in the bottom of a large plastic bowl -one with a lid- pour the chocolate cereal mixture on top and then sprinkle the remaining powdered sugar over that. Put the lid on and shake it up! No need to waste a zip lock bag every time you make it. I usually then store the chow in that same bowl, for the few minutes it lasts. 2) this is more of a preference but often I will put the puppy chow in the fridge for 15-20 minutes after making or before eating. Something about it being slightly cool tastes really good! Also, I think rice chex works best.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2009

      We've been using this recipe for a few years now, it's the exact same one that comes printed on the side of the Rice Chex cereal box. A few helpful hints: Divide the cereal and the chocolate/peanut butter mixture between a few gallon sized zip lock bags. It'll make mixing it all easier and cleaner! Also, I found that this is too sweet for me personally so we created what our family calls "The Salty Dog". I sprinkle the whole batch of finished puppy chow with about a teaspoon of salt. It adds a really nice sweet/salty flavor to each bite. A girlfriend of mine adds crushed up pretzel pieces to the cereal before she coats it with chocolate/peanut butter

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2010

      we make this as a special treat for the kids (ok, and adults) when we go to the lake every summer... i think chex in canada are different from those in the u.s. the first time we used canadian chex and they are so soft they broke into tiny crumbs - too small for the kids to eat without making a colossal mess (although it made an incredible topping for ice cream!!) so we use quaker oat squares or quaker corn bran squares, which i think is more comparable to the american version of chex. we keep everything else the same. i don't actually measure the sugar, i just dump it until it looks right, butwe use a fair bit less than 1.5 cups. our monkey munch is more brown than white, but thats just a personal preference. oh, also, i just work it around in a giant stainless mixing bowl - we found the ziplock broke up the cereal more. i just finished making a batch with my 3 year old son, and we are off to the lake tomorrow!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2010

      Seriously, look at all the ingredients. HOW can you go wrong? Delish!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2009

      My son (14) and I both love this recipe. I do not add the butter though. I actually didn't realize it was on there when I made it. And it came out perfect! So why add in the extra calories if its not needed.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      Yummm. Made lots and kids loved it. I didn't find it that messy (and I'm a very messy cook). I didn't have a big ziplock bag so I just used 2 big mixing bowls.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2008

      This stuff is AWESOME!!!!!! I always make it with 2 cups of chocolate chips, 3/4 cups of peanut butter and 5 tablespoons of butter. That gives it more chocolate coating. I also use about 3 cups of powdered sugar. I use two 1 gallon Ziploc bags and split the powdered sugar, and chocolate covered cereal between the two bags. But however you do it, you can't mess this recipe up.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2013

      I did use Crispix, but otherwise made the chocolate and peanut butter version. YUMMIE!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      forget about the zip lock bags, i throw the everything in a big brown paper bag and shake it up, it coats everything fantastic, i make this many times a year,,, throw away the bag no mess,,, enjoy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      I just love puppy chow. This is a very easy recipe and very delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2012

      I gave this recipe 5 stars! OMG! These taste just like the store brand Chex Mix Muddy Buddy's! Just delicious! My family loved these! I made these for guys I take care of as a special treat! I'm hoping they enjoy them! Thanks for posting! Christine

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2012

      This was my first time making or eating puppy chow. The same recipe appears on the rice chex box and is called Monkey Munch. It tastes much better cold, I did not enjoy it warm. It is a bit messy to make b/c of the powdered sugar, but it was lots of fun to make with my youngest daughter (5) for a movie snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      A great, quick treat. Great idea for movie night or for birthday party munchies. I was in a bit of a hurry so I put the mix in the freezer for a few minutes once it was completed to help it set a bit faster. I didn't use a whole pound of confectioner's surgar but used about 2 cups. I used Rice Chex cereal instead of Crispix. I think this would be good mixed with craisins as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2012

      I don't know what else to say that others haven't. This is addicting! I love using ziploc bags to coat ingedients!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      Ok, I haven't actually made this, but I have devoured it! My sister included some in a goodie tray she gave my family for Christmas. These are so yummy and delicious! I can't wait to try making it myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      This special treat is a HUGE hit in my house. I half the recipe because this will be gone within the day! I'm not a sugar nazi but I try to limit special treats like this. My kids are crazy enough without being fueled by pure sugar :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      Thank you so much for posting this recipe. My husband just asked for some last night and I couldn't find my recipe anywhere!! This is exactly how we make it (although I always double, sometimes even triple the recipe) and it is always a crowd pleaser!! Thank you for coming to my rescue!! Like others mentioned, we tend to store ours in a tupperware container so rather than dirty more dishes, I usually mix it in the bowl. Lastly, I prefer to use a double boiler and slowly melt the chocolate and peanut butter rather than the microwave only because I am terrible at scorching the chocolate via the microwave. Enjoy, this treat never lasts long at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2011

      Everyone LOVED it!! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2011

      These are so great and easy to make. I followed your recipe exactly and took the resulting treats to a work potluck, where they were well enjoyed! Thank you very much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2011

      This is the recipe on the Chex box...WONDERFUL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 9

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Puppy Chow or Monkey Munch

    Serving Size: 1 (38 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 268.4
     
    Calories from Fat 145
    54%
    Total Fat 16.1 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 12.2 mg
    4%
    Sodium 101.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    7%
    Sugars 28.0 g
    112%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    Chex cereal

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites