8 Reviews

This is a brilliant go to bread. I use the fast bread setting (59 minutes) on my bread machine, Throw in a bit more ginger, (maybe 1/2 a teaspoon) and get a dense but soft and delicious loaf. I use 100% whole spelt or kamut flour. The bread is a bit crumbly if I try to cut it the minute I get it out of the machine-- but who cares. This is wonderful! Thanks for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Veggie Vivien July 22, 2012

I made it by hand too :) great results...I was thrilled (I get thrilled when I make a yummy loaf of bread...it is like a little present :) I used a bit of wheat flour, added some gluten and flavored my pumpkin with a bit of cinnamon, nutmeg, chili and white pepper (in addition to the stated spices mixed with the dry) -let the pulp get room temp and mixed it w/ melted soy margarine... after the first rise (in oiled bowl w/ a hot towel wrap) I free-formed the dough on a cookie sheet into a dome shape, brushed it with honey and ground oats and covered with oiled plastic wrap for about an hour)...baked about 30 min. at 350... came out perfect! A lovely orange kissed color, subtle sweetish and bit of spice flavor...great with any meal anytime ...LOVE IT!!! _thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
free-free February 26, 2009

this was very good!!rose so hig it almost touched the glass on my breadmaker!will make again, soon. thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
terri lacy November 23, 2008

I made quite a few changes. I used 1 3/4 cups white flour and 1 cup whole wheat. I increased the cinnamon to 2 teaspoons and added 2 tablespoons pumpkin seeds and 3/4 cup raisins. I also added 1 tablespoon gluten flour. Thanks for posting the recipe Vino Girl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dorel February 25, 2008

It's a good recipe. It rises very nicely, the texture and color lovely. I followed some tips from another reviewer and found I agreed with her feelings. I used pumpkin pie spice, and 3 tsp's of it, as well as half a cup of brown sugar. I felt it could still do with more sugar as it didn't seem sweet enough for my pallet. It's a fantastic recipe, with tweaks to match your own tastes. Ty for posting it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColoradoCookin' September 28, 2007

Quite a unique yeast bread. I only got to taste a bit of it while it was warm. The bread was definitely moist, not too dense and has a beautiful appearance. I will try it again, with a little more pumpkin and using the pumpkin pie spice - plus a little more sugar too, I think. One mistake I did make was to add a little too much flour, but the bread handled it well - it was still light and airy. Thanks for posting such a unique yeast bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Color Guard Mom August 21, 2007

What a great recipe! Made a really nice loaf that wasn't dense, but was light and airy! Unfortunately I was out of ginger, but it was still a terrific loaf! Can't wait to try this again, the next time with the ginger included! UPDATE: Made this again...this time for an American Cancer Society bake sale...It sold almost immediately and recieved rave reviews from the purchaser! Thanks for posting this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookin'withGas May 11, 2007

This was a pretty good bread. It was incredibly tender with a very light crumb. I used 1.5 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice (as I had run out of nutmeg the AM) and I think I would have liked more as it was barely detectable. I would also sub honey for the brown sugar as this would provide even more flavor - and even some whole wheat flour for again for taste/texture. But overall - a pretty "good" recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dukeswalker October 25, 2005
Pumpkin Yeast Bread