22 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This recipe is delicious and very very moist. I removed my cake from the oven after one hour of baking and let it cool for 30 minutes in the pan. I then inverted it to a wire rack and let it set until completely cooled. I used the glaze on top and it turned out perfectly. I think the reason a person might have the cake turn out dry is only because they left the cake to cool in the oven (I'm assuming that is what the recipe meant or it was a typo). Many applauses for the cake! Thank you Aroostook for the delicious recipe! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Silent Rain December 27, 2004

What a super recipe! I prefer a little more spice so I added extra cinnamon and allspice to the cake AND the filling. I used the suggestion from another reviewer and made a glaze using reduced apple cider and just a little powdered sugar, which turned out super! The second time I made it I added a cup of raisins as well. My husband requested I make this for Thanksgiving!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Serenity Baker October 03, 2014

I have to withhold stars, because the way mine turned out I'd have to give this recipe 4 stars. But I made a substitution; I subbed applesauce for half that butter. For the most part, it was still moist, but the outer 1/2 inch was too dry. I took it out of the oven at 55 minutes, and I think it was overbaked. The flavor is good; not too heavy on pumpkin. I don't really care for allspice but I made as directed and though you can really smell it, the taste is not too strong on spice. I will make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn November 21, 2011

I made this a few months ago and never wrote a review. I had taken it to someone's house and she just called me to ask for the recipe, which reminded me that I should review this. We really enjoyed this. The cake was very moist. One change I made was that instead of 1 c. of butter, I used 1/2 c. butter and 1/2 c. of oil. I think I may have cut down on the sugar a little bit too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
browniepie February 02, 2010

Love, loved loved it!! I wasn't sure about the pumpkin but it was moist and fabulous!!! I made it for work and everyone loved it!! This one is a keeper!! I will make over again and again! Thanks for sharing!! ps made it in Oct but i forgot to write my review!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twins mom February 22, 2009

Dense, moist, delicious! I regret leaving out the streusel. I will be making this again (and again!)! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sassykat1213 February 09, 2009

This cake was scrumptious-I changed the glaze a tad and added cider-really gave it a fall taste. Everyone loved it.Will make this one over again.Thank you. McM

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
birdsnest September 26, 2008

This is a great cake. My DH and his family just could not quit eating it. The texture was just perfect for us. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn December 13, 2007

I thought this was very good, but it didn't quite have the flavor I was looking for. I cut down on the calories just a bit by using 1/4 cup canola oil and 1/4 cup applesauce instead of a half-cup of butter. (Maybe I should mention I cut the recipe in half and baked it in two mini-bundt pans for 35-40 minutes). I also used light sour cream instead of full-fat sour cream. I don't think it degraded the cake; it was still very moist and very rich. Thanks for posting this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KLHquilts November 21, 2007

This cake was really good and baked up perfect. I made it for my boyfriend's work. They all seemed to like it but I made sure they saved me a piece so I could rate it. I prefer a more heavy texture I think. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenkungfu October 17, 2007
Pumpkin Streusel Bundt Cake