Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin (Squash), Leek, Bean and Bacon Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin (Squash), Leek, Bean and Bacon Soup

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 31, 2009

      Very nice starting point for a soup. I can attest to the forgiving nature of the recipe. I used 3 large leeks (and even included lots of the darker green parts because they do have nice flavor, the dark green looks great in this soup, and because they aren't too tough after a good simmer). I used extra garlic, less stock, and skipped the beans altogether because I didn't think we would like that texture with the thicker type of soup. I used turkey pepperoni slices in place of bacon, and used 2 cans (didn't have a 3rd) of pumpkin rather than the squash--partly for convenience, but also because I've found that pumpkin strikes me as less sweet than the other orange/yellow squashes and I prefer that. I had no tarragon, so used extra thyme and added some sage, as well as plenty of pepper. I did not use the cream and we did not miss it. I served it with some parmesan cheese and fresh bread and salad. It had great flavors that both contrasted from each other and worked well together, and I also really enjoyed the leftovers in my lunch. To top it all off, it was quick and easy to toss together and allows you to do other stuff during the simmer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      This soup went down so smooth. Great with a nice piece of bread. Like said in other reviews I used cannelini bean instead of the lima (never been a big fan). This was VERY tasty and I will make this again. Made and reviewed for Recipe Swap #24 Jan.'08

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2013

      So good! I used banana squash, no tarragon, no leeks but a large white and a large yellow onion, which I cooked up in the pan with the bacon and dried garlic while I microwaved the squash so it would be done faster. I put a half cup of flour in the pan with the bacon when the bacon and onions were done and cooked it up for a minute, then made sure the stock and cream were hot when I dumped them in so the fIour would make a roux and not be gluey. Substituted garbanzo beans for the white beans because that's what I had. I used an immersion blender at the end to blend it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2011

    • on September 23, 2010

      This soup was great! Both DH and I really enjoyed. I will certainly be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      Wow, we loved this soup. I followed the recipe, using cannellini beans, but left out the last 5 ingredients. So easy to make & with fabulous results. I made it a couple of days ahead for our dinner last night. Great for an easy meal on a cool autumn night. Thanks Peggy for sharing this winner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      Really delicious. I made mine with fresh butternut squash, a can of baby butter beans and added the half cup of whipping cream. I used my immersion blender to smooth things out and we all enjoyed this soup very much. Made for Comfort Food, a tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2009

      This was a winner at my house. Everyone including the 3yo and 8mo ate it! I served it with some simple soda bread - delicious. It made a lot too, so good for leftovers for the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2008

      I thought i reviewed this when i made it but it looks like i didn't or it didn't post this is a fantastic soup the bacon & leek make it a fantastic version of the normal pumpkin soup. Very tasty Made for RECIPE SWAP #21 - October 2008

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2008

      I made this for a family lunch but also had celery to use up so in it went. The pumpkin flavour is very subtle so even SIL tried it who doesn't like pumpkin which was good. A lovely soup that went well with some fresh damper rolls. Thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      This was delicious! I used cannelini beans. I also used an extra leek (yum!) This is a fabulous soup that I made for the Aussie Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      The butternut squash and cannelini beans in this compliment each other well. As did the low fat sausage I used (instead of the bacon). I did not use the cream. The juice of a very large lemon, along with non fat sour cream gave it just the right tang. It was really good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      Excellent recipe. I was very surprised at how fresh it tasted. I used vegetable stock instead of chicken, didn't have any tarragon leaves and omitted the cream. I garnished with parsley and croutons. I tried this when warm and tried it again after it had been in the fridge for a couple of hours. As the days are very hot here at the moment I thought I'd give it a try cold. Who said soups should be served hot!!!!! This was delicious chilled also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin (Squash), Leek, Bean and Bacon Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (490 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.5
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    43%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 23.3 mg
    7%
    Sodium 644.8 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 36.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 5.4 g
    21%
    Sugars 8.0 g
    32%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites