18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I modified the recipe as so many of you have done. Added the Baking Powder, extra sour cream, less pumpkin and it was delicious and moist! I also made a glaze to pour over the tops when they were done with confectioners sugar and some pumpkin spices and milk. I love the moistness of these muffins and they were very much like Dunkin Donuts.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
food snob mom November 12, 2011

This is a great recipe except, I agree, it did not work with 30 oz pumpkin. Yikes! Second time around I used 15 oz of pumpkin and two tbsp of sourcream instead of one. Perfect. You also might want to add a crumb topping made with brown sugar, flour and butter to end up more like DD. Yum. Totally addicted! You should also use muffin liners rather than spraying.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mom-2-many December 17, 2008

I may have the solution to the complaints. The recipe calls for pumpkin puree. Other copycat versions use pumpkin pie mix/filling which is different. The mix/filling is puree plus sugar and spices and cannot be substituted by pure pumpkin puree. Try using the can of mix and you may find it makes a difference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
davduss September 27, 2014

I was so excited to find this recipe. I love the DnD muffins.
I added 1 Tablespoon of baking poweder (thanks jmp131) and they came out AWESOME! I added butter and walnuts to the brown sugar topping too. Absolutely delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnavinaz October 08, 2011

I debated following the comments made by previous cooks because I really like trying the original recipe first before I go messing with it. Since the original recipe was on copy cat web site, I went there to see what kinds of comments were posted. All favorable without changes. So, I followed the recipe exactly with one exception -- I added a rounded tablespoon of baking powder (which the original cook mentioned in a comment to the original Copy Cat recipe). They came out perfect (although I may cut back on the pumpkin pie spice), and my 12 and 16 year olds both think these are "the best muffins" ever. So definitely something I'll be making again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jmp131_5392729 February 17, 2011

YUMMMM-O!! I don't normally write reviews but this is a great recipe & a perfect substitute for DD pumpkin muffins! I'm a complete kitchen/baking/cooking moron and they came out perfect for me. I did take the advice of some of the reviews and used less pumpkin (1.5 cans) and more sour cream (3T). I also added chopped walnuts to the topping and baked them at 375 for 25 mins splitting the difference between the recipe and some reviewers. They were yummy and SO moist! I did notice one problem with my foil cupcake liner things. The directions said that you didn't need to use a muffin pan with them but I think the batter was too heavy. The muffins NOT baked in the muffin pan spread more than rose (made wide muffins with a sunken squishier center) while the muffins IN the muffin pan rose instead of spreading (like a normal muffin top). Ha! That's not a problem with the recipe though. It's just something I noticed. Looks like I need to buy another muffin pan so I can keep making these! Thanks to the submitter!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klmanton December 20, 2010

I made these last night and honestly, I don't see why this has gotten so many poor reviews. These are THE BEST pumpkin muffins I have ever eaten, and I have eaten my fair share of Pumpkin Muffins :) I used 2 Tbsp.'s of sour cream and 1 can of pumpkin. The cooking time and ingredient measurements were perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherOrr October 11, 2010

Terrible waste of time and money. I really had my hopes up with this one and I thought my son, who's favorite treat in the world is D&D's muffins, was gonna cry as I tossed 24 muffins into the garbage. After 45 mins in the oven they still fell and remained mush on the bottom. I'll try it again with half the pumpkin, but I think if 90% of the reviews say cut the pumpkin maybe the individual who submitted the recipe should consider amending it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilmum79 October 07, 2010

This recipe was easy to prepare and the flavor was awesome, but 30 ounces of pumpkin was too much. I put the muffins in a bowl and the next morning they were sitting in a wet goo. So, I tried the recipe again using 15 ounces of pumpkin and they turned out perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bldoers November 07, 2009

Awful, Awful, Awful - sank in middle - for the expense it took to make these you expect them not to fall apart - greasy and to spicy

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coastguard November 02, 2009
Pumpkin Spice Muffins (Like Dunkin Donuts)