9 Reviews

This was really good! The cake was very moist with a nice spice flavour with a hint of pumpkin. I was making a pumpkin-shaped cake, so I did up a double recipe, which I baked in four 8" round tins. It was perfect for my project! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kathleen Constance October 17, 2012

Perfect! I didn't change a thing and it turned out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Penni J. May 09, 2012

Wonderful blend of flavors. This cake tasted very rich and was very moist. I would have preferred a more pronounced orange flavor in the frosting but everyone else loved it. This will be a repeat, especially around the holidays.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ReeLani October 05, 2010

Best of Zaar 2008 Tag: Out of this world good!! This cake was easy to make and delicious!! Thank you for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose February 09, 2009

Wonderful! This cake is just delicious! The orange frosting is light and perfectly balanced. I made these as jumbo muffins, and they were just great! Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe!!!! :) Made for Potluck Tag

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kittycatmom February 01, 2009

Outstanding! I love this moist cake and the frosting is perfect. It is very easy to make and comes together in a snap. The spice flavor is so good. I really liked the orange in the frosting. I added some fresh orange zest to the frosting, then a bit on top. I will be making these again. I'd like to try it in a bundt or even cupcakes. Made and Enjoyed 'for Please Review My Recipe Tag - Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ December 26, 2008

This cake is just terrific! The pumpkin and the spice cake worked perfectly together. The cake was so moist and I loved the icing just as much! I used half of the batter to make a dozen cupcakes (in foil tins so they wouldn't stick) and the rest to make a small cake. I used the toasted walnuts as a topping. I just loved everything about this - thanks for posting the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof December 03, 2008

GREAT TASTING CAKE, & yes, very moist! I'm usually a bit aprehensive when using spice cake mixes, but it worked very well here! I added some finely minced orange zest to the frosting, which was great, then topped it all off with toasted pecans! Will certainly be making this one again! [Tagged, made & reviewed in the Potluck Tag Game]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike November 18, 2008

A pick for me for Spring Pac 2007. This cake is delighfully moist and full of flavor. I was really impressed with it. It was very easty to make and sooo good. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RHIANNA T. May 02, 2007
Pumpkin Spice Cake With Orange Buttercream Frosting