25 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent and easy recipe! The praline topping is what really makes this shine, although the cake itself is terrifically moist and wonderful. I doubled the topping in mine, as you suggested, poked holes in the cake with a toothpick to allow more to soak in, and the extra topping I poured into the center ring so it could absorb slowly without running off. After the topping soaked in, I spooned the remaining pecans on top. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue Lau November 06, 2004

What a wonderful recipe...it wasn't difficult and impressive when done...this is definitely a keeper...thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonP November 12, 2011

Effort wise, this was great. Taste wise, it was okay. I'm not a fan of boxed cake mixes, but I thought the pumpkin would overpower the chemical taste. Although it didn't, I tasted the cake again today and it definitely has improved. This recipe would be great as a last minute dessert.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PumpKIM November 01, 2010

This cake is wonderful! Thank you so much for sharing, I have made it and brought it in to work several times and had many requests for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tracyjester January 06, 2010

Great recipe! Very, very moist and delicious. I used a maple syrup, cream cheese icing which made it even better. My friends raved and were very happy to get a piece to take home. Will make it again for family this Christmas.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlpart December 03, 2009

This cake is a winner. Instead of using a box of yellow cake and the pumpkin pie spice, I just use a box of spice cake mix--turns out great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bclincoln4 November 25, 2009

Pretty good, much better after the first day. I didn't use the glaze/topping, just topped it with a vanilla butter glaze. Naxt time I'll try it according to recipe. Nanita, Thanks for posting . . . Janet

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jezski November 08, 2009

So easy and moist! I used Cream Cheese Frosting for the frosting rather than the glaze. Fantastic - a wonderful fall dessert!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebS #2 October 25, 2009

I have made this cake twice in the last 3 days. I have to say that it was eaten by 30 different people and praised with the highest regards. I had to make a ton of copies of the recipe and direct as many more to this site. It is one of the best cakes I have ever made and I am not a baker. So simple and very tasty. I would give it 100 stars if I could. The only thing I did different was double the topping. Be sure and do that as it is absolutely delicious. Thank you so much Nanita for submitting this recipe. I would hug you if I could.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooking with love October 16, 2009

I just had a piece of this great cake. I love the taste of pumpking and I thought this would be a wonderful for my co-workers for breakfast. Cake was very moist and icing is decadent.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
5JFs December 12, 2008
Pumpkin Spice Cake