340 Reviews

This bread is delicious! I made a spread of cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar and a touch of vanilla to accompany it. Perfect on a cool fall day!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JenB October 24, 2003

This recipe deserves 10 stars!! I mean it. Absolutely delicious. And so very easy to throw together. I kept one of the loaves for myself and took one in to work to share. Everyone was to bring in goodies today. That Pumpkin loaf was gone in a jiffy, and not a crumb left, while everyone else had leftovers to take back home. Plus I had to give out the recipe! So thanks, jmelyn, for a recipe I will be making again and again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bert October 20, 2003

Wonderful, WONDERFUL recipe! Only thing I did different was to throw in some chopped pecans. My husband and others raved about it. I'll surely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LittleJo December 10, 2015

Moist and spicy--delicious! I made a few modifications in an attempt to lighten this up and it was still incredibly moist and full of flavor. I subbed unsweetened apple sauce for half the oil and used half whole wheat flour. Also, I used 1/3 less sugar. One thing I would note is that I doubled the amount of spices and thought it was perfect. Will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizAnn November 28, 2015

So good. I only had 1/2 c. of pumpkin so used apple butter for the other half. I made 2 mini loaves with this half recipe. Will try it with the creme cheese when it is cool.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound November 05, 2015

10 stars! So amazingly delicious. Used one can of pumpkin, didn't bother measuring. Didn't have any cloves on hand so used pumpkin pie spice instead. Greased pans thoroughly but didn't bother with the flouring, came of out no problem. The first loaf baked in 1 hour and 10 mins, the second loaf needed a bit longer as it was a bit bigger pan, 1 hour and 20 mins. Frosted using 3 oz cream cheese, 3 T butter, 1 1/2 C powder sugar, 1/8 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp vanilla and splash of whip cream. Heaaavveeenn.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubbleyumm82 October 18, 2015

Wow! This bread was soooo delicious i had to make more! Everyone loved it and I had none left over! I did add 1/2 c of light brown sugar to the regular sugar a bit more cinnamon because I love it! And sliced almonds on top! So moist and delicious! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CupcakeGenM September 11, 2015

This recipe is soooo good! I made cupcakes and a loaf from the same batch. Bother are moist and perfectly flavored. I will be making this recipe all season.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruthie655 November 24, 2014

followed other suggestions lowering sugar to 2 cups. Added a little streusel topping. Nice texture. Next time will double spices. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brownstone gal November 02, 2014

What a great recipe! I read the comments and reduced the amount of sugar to 2 cups. I also put in a little more of the spices it called for because we really like the spices. I also added nuts and it was wonderful! The whole family loves it! I also took some to work and got rave reviews!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindy.kuntzelman October 09, 2014
Pumpkin Spice Bread