335 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hooray for another great recipe! And the reviews and tips were helpful too! I baked this bread to rave reviews and my recipe included revisions suggested by several other cooks. I used only 2 cups of sugar, I halved the oil and added 1/2 cup of unsweetened apple sauce, I used half whole wheat and half white flour and I replaced the spices w/ 4 tablespoons of pumpkin pie spice for flavor. Next time I'll take some of the other advice and add pecans. My bread was quite moist and it came out perfectly. (For any of you who had trouble removing the bread from the pans, I sprayed mine with Pam baking spray (the oil and flour are combined into the spray) and my loaves literally fell out of the pans. Thanks so much to jmelyn for an excellent recipe!

18 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KatieGT June 11, 2009

This is the perfect bread... my grandmother has made a version of this for years and I have always loved it... our recipe is slightly different and includes my favorite part, a glaze for the top as follows: 9 Tbsp of Brown Sugar, 3 Tbsp Butter, 1/2 Tbsp of Water and 1 Tbsp of vanilla. Combine all ingredients and cook until boiling continue 30 seconds after boil then remove from stove and let thicken, brush bread loaves with a thick layer and allow to dry slightly....YUM

14 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whitefam1 October 10, 2011

I used fresh pumpkin puree instead of canned, half whole wheat and half white flour, halved the recipe and cooked in a bundt pan for 40 minutes. It turned out very good, perfect consistency. When trying it fresh out of the oven I thought initially that it needed more spices, but after letting it sit overnight and letting the flavors blend more, it is perfect now. Thanks!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
spartanfish September 12, 2010

Don't change a thing, follow the amounts exactly and you won't be disappointed. Going into my favorites for sure. Rave reviews even from the people who said they didn't like pumpkin bread.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cooptender September 20, 2011

This was fantastic! The bread is moist and not overly sweet, and smells SOOOOO good baking! It may have just been my oven, but I had to bake it for about an hour and 20 minutes to get the middle done. I was afraid the outside would be hard and and overcooked, but it was perfect. Can't wait to make this again!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nolan'sMom May 05, 2010

This is the second time i made this bread. I remembered it to be good when i followed the recipe exactly. However, today i decided to be more health conscious and substituted 1/2 the oil with applesauce. I must say, the end result is not as satisfying though more healthy. I think i will stick to 1 cup of oil in future. Thanks for sharing.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marmee-of-3 June 26, 2008

YUM YUM!! This pumpkin spice bread came out with a nicely browned, thin crusty layer on top and so deliciously moist on the inside!! I just used a 15 oz can of pumpkin (a little less than the 2 cups that it calls for) and it worked great. Thanks so much for posting this recipe--it's a keeper!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twelve-year-old chef November 23, 2008

I had to use pumpkin pie spice in place of cloves and nutmeg, but it was still awesome! I received many compliments. Thanks for a keeper!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Fielding October 03, 2006

Delicious!! The only thing I did differently was use ginger instead of the nutmeg. Thanks for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmandaWoody July 19, 2011

Superb...best tasting quick bread I ever made and tasted. Liked the texture and moisture and very easy to make. To start off I used the small can of pumpkin which was only 15 oz, a little shy of 2 cups, but the pumpkin flavor was still there. I didn't want the bread to be too spicy so I used only 1/4 tsp of both the nutmeg as well as the ground cloves. This made the bread not over powering, but spicy enough for my household. My husband gave you an A+. Personally I'd give you 6 or 7 stars! Thank you for suggesting this recipe when I was looking for the perfect pumpkin bread.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
1ginger November 28, 2004
Pumpkin Spice Bread