14 Reviews

These were so easy and delicious. I had a can of pumpkin that I wanted to get used up, so decided to make these as part of the 'Cookiethon'. I did add the raisins after all the other ingredients were mixed (folded them in). I took them to my parents', so there were only four of us, but they wanted to keep some of what were left when we got ready to leave. Dad is not usually one to comment one way or the other about whether or not he likes something, but he made it a point to mention how great these were! Now that's saying something! Thank you for sharing a great recipe Ambassadress!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn December 19, 2002

for this recipe made with egg beaters, splenda, applesauce, whole wheat flour, and no raisins, 1/15th is only one weight watchers point! amazing!! thanks so much. a real guilt-free taste of fall.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chungry1 October 09, 2008

I was looking for a pumpkin cake dessert that didn't start with a boxed cake mix, and this one fit my needs perfectly. I did make a few changes to make it healthier: reduced sugar to 1 1/2 cups, only used 1/2 cup oil and added 1/2 cup applesauce, subbed 1 tsp cinn, 1/3 tsp each cloves, ginger and nutmeg instead of pumpkin pie spice, added 1/4 cup powdered milk (for added calcium) and subbed 1 cup walnuts for raisons. It turned out very good, but I think that I would prefer less of the pumpkin pie spice flavor. Next time I would try it with just the cinnamon. UPDATE: I just made this again and loved the resent...but it was more like a pumpkin blondie than bread. I cut the recipe in half, used half applesauce instead of oil and just cinnamon instead of pumpkin pie spice. LOVED it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 January 03, 2016

Excellent. Moist and delicious. Used chocolate chips instead of raisins, otherwise followed directions to a tee.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
orr6255 October 02, 2015

Delicious pumpkin bars and very easy!! I added chocolate chips instead of raisins and nuts. Was a hit with our friends.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deborahgd14 November 09, 2014

Made these with chocolate chips instead of raisins, and they were a huge hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Neomia December 13, 2009

These were pretty good...Not too sweet and had a good texture. I didn't care for the raisons in it, but it does fit the recipe. A friend made pumpkin cookies for the same event as I made these and she got the popular vote. I think it could have used cinnamon. However, good tasty recipe, thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amlaphq October 25, 2008

This was the first recipe I made from zaar. I don't eat sweets but everyone else says this was delicious. One of my husbands co-workers requested a whole pan for himself. I used a mix of white chocolate chips and milk chocolate chips instead of raisins. thanks for the easy recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boob November 18, 2007

Since yesterday marked the first cold day of fall here, I decided to make these along with hot apple cider. Very tasty! I used fresh pumpkin instead of canned and added just a bit more pumpkin pie spice. Thank you for a great fall recipe that I'll be sure to make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ingy September 30, 2007

whoops...forgot the stars I think..If not it deserves 10 stars anyway!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Button Baker September 22, 2007
Pumpkin Spice Bars