Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Soup

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on October 10, 2010

      This was absolutely wonderful! Just a touch of sweetness but full of flavor - my husband and I loved it and the picky children liked it.

      I mostly followed the directions except I used coconut milk instead of cows milk (I was almost out of cows milk and the kids gotta have cereal in the A.M.). I love how well the coconut milk and pumpkin blend and complement so I may continue to use coconut milk.

      We will definitely be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2010

      Wow! Great soup!! I tried to make pumpkin soup before with a different recipe because I thought I'd like it and I didn't. I wasn't ever going to try again but I ended up with a bunch of pie pumpkins so I thought I'd give it one more try. I sure am glad I did, this recipe is awesome and I'll definitely be making it again! I didn't have any grits so I just thickened with a bit of cornstarch and milk. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2010

      Just amazing! Loved this. Going to see if I can take it to thanksgiving. Only thing was I think I will use onion powder next time, didn't like the chunks of onion but like the flavor of them.

      I changed a couple things due to what I had. I used a 1lb 13oz can of pumpkin and 4 cups bouillon. Also added ginger and cinnamon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      I won't leave any stars because i think I wouldn't like this dish no matter how well it was made. It seems to have the texture of tomato soup and everything that's good about tomato soup except those conflicting tastes of pumpkins and onions, and the pumpkin trying to be a soup, which it has no business being. . It tasted like I needed to put a crust on the bottom of it and a dollop of whip cream on the top. Perhaps omitting or cutting down on the sugar would have lessened that urge

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      Wow, this is great!! I cut the butter way down, I might have used like 2 or 3 tablespoons...it was still awesome! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2011

      Wow, really fabulous soup! I just tried pumpkin soup at a restaurant for the first time, and I wanted to be able to make it myself. This one is so close. I did use a stick blender to puree the onions in after cooking them, and also used cream of wheat instead of grits because that is what I had. I went the sweeter route with a touch of maple syrup and topped with a few molasses cookie crumbs instead of cheese, but look forward to trying the more savory version. Thanks so much for posting, I will be making this often! Made again - was wonderful for Thanksgiving!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2011

      Thought it was nice... but would have liked it a bit thicker (I didn't use the grits to be fair). Next time I would use a hand blender to grind the onion. I also added a pinch of cayanne and a bit of fresh ginger which added a nice zing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2010

      I really liked the pumpkin soup. However, I was the only one. DH said he just couldn't get into it and the little one just wasn't having it. Well, as for me, I enjoyed the taste completely. I thought the grits were okay but next time I might not use them at all. When I tasted the soup I immediately thought of some rice. After a few tastes of the soup, I did add some red pepper flakes. It added a little zip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      This was great. I followed another person's suggestion and used my stick blender on it before I added the milk, so there were no big chunks of onion in it. I didn't have grits since I live in Canada, so I tried cream of wheat, and it worked LOL. I also only added about a TBSP of brown sugar instead of the full amount. Served it with some grated old cheddar on top. I will definately make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2010

      This had a good taste to it, but I really hated biting down on the chunks of onions. I think I will saute and then blend then onions next time before adding it to the soup. Also, the grits stayed very "gritty" for me and gave it kind of a weird texture. The flavor though, was really delicious, so I will be making it again with a few changes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      This soup was amazing! We added a drizzle of truffle oil and it was the bomb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2010

      Super yummy. I've never had pumpkin soup before, but I'd declare that this soup is great. We ate about half of it for dinner tonight (my 21 month old son even loved it), and I froze the other half. Don't know how well it will do in the freezer, but I'm excited to eat the left overs in a couple of weeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      Delicious! This tasted exactly like several versions I have had at nice restaurants. We serviced it savory (with the cheese) and sweet (with whipped cream) and ti was a hit either way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2008

      This was great! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      Great! My husband said to rate it 6 stars =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      Delicious! I had 3/4 can of pumpkin left over from another recipe, and no cream, so I scaled this down. I cut the butter in half and used skim milk to reduce the fat. I used brown sugar, and I doubled the cinnamon and added 1/2 tsp of ground ginger. I ran a stick blender through it to chop down the onions. Just what the doctor ordered!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2007

      Carmelized the onions, used brown sugar, added a little ginger and about a tablespoon of soy sauce. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2006

      Absolutely delicious! This was better than the soups we had on our cruise last year. I added a pinch of cayenne and forgot the parmesan. Thank you Nad!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2006

      this is fantastic,... tried a different pumpkin soup last year,... but I like the fact that this one has a touch of sweetness to it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2006

      I'd never had pumpkin soup but always wanted to try it-so glad I did! I used cream instead of milk, just because it needed to be used up and I think I'll try grits instead of spaghetti noodles next time. Thank you for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (267 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 235.6
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    60%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 42.8 mg
    14%
    Sodium 667.0 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.7 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.1 g
    36%
    Protein 6.9 g
    13%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    salt and pepper

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes