Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 30, 2009

      This is a great base to work with. I doubled the batch, added crushed garlic, 2Tbsp, in the last stages of browning the onions, and 1/4 tsp of curry powder and 1/4 tsp of tarragon while simmering the pumpkin & potato. When serving I added about a Tbsp of grated gruyere to each bowl. This will become a staple in our fall soup selections. When I make this again, I'm going to simmer the pumpkin in the stock and add the milk with the sauted leeks. While it may give the pumpkin a more prominant flavor - which is not a bad thing - it should reduce the chance of scorching the milk and ease the cleaning of the pot. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2010

      This is the first time I made pumpkin soup and it turned out great! I would probably use less chicken stock next time (maybe just 2 cups) for a thicker consistency. Make sure to season with a lot of black pepper! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2010

      We really enjoyed this hearty, savory soup! Because we used canned pumpkin I simply boiled the potatoes in a half water-half milk mixture and mashed the pumpkin into the potatoes when they had softened. I added the onion with the chicken stock and waited to add the sauteed leeks until the very end. We thought the soup benefited from a tsp. of oregano and some garlic powder. This is a great soup on a cold night!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2009

      Very quick and very tasty -I'll be making this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2009

    • on December 07, 2008

      I really enjoyed this soup. It was very good. I just decided to you 1/4lb of potato and 1/4 of sweet potato. It just added a something different to it. Very yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2007

      I have made this a few times now and we all love it! I just made it with butternut squash as it's darn near impossible to get a sugar pumpkin a week after halloween. It's great, I think I like it more with the butternut than pumpkin. I gave the cream a quick whip with a whisk to a soft cream so it would hold up for a bit. This lets you place a dollop in the center and pull it with a knife into a lovely swirl. Thanks for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2007

      Wow, we made this out of the pumpkins we carved for halloween, and were a little shy of the cream and leeks. So we used a small amount of smoked Gouda and fresh chives instead. Nonetheless, this subtle, aromatic soup is amazingly tasty! thank you for sharing Dale!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2007

      Very good! A great new way to have both leeks and pumpkin. Canned pumpkin works just as well when fresh isn't available. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2005

      Fantastic pumpkin soup! Will be making this time and time again I am sure. Only thing I added for an extra omph is 1 clove of garlic which went beautifully! thank you so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      Brilliant Recipe! We ate this time and time again. I used a Queensland Blue Pumpkin that was grown locally and the taste was fantastic. I am now trying it with sweet potatoes instead of normal spuds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2003

      Tasty Soup! Great for a cold damp day - rich! Great with a green salad and crusty bread for dipping.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (397 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 324.2
     
    Calories from Fat 193
    59%
    Total Fat 21.5 g
    33%
    Saturated Fat 13.0 g
    65%
    Cholesterol 66.4 mg
    22%
    Sodium 299.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes