10 Reviews

I made this for a chuch hayride party and it was a hit. I used two 8" round pans and made it into a layer cake and added pumpkin pie sprice to the cream cheese frosting. Mmmmmmm.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skipspin November 23, 2009

I've made this many times and everyone loves it. It's very moist. I don't use the oil. Instead I sub the oil with unsweetened applesauce. You don't even miss the oil.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Cooky April 25, 2007

Absolutely delicious. I used 2 eggs, a little less oil, and a little more pumpkin. Also subbed nutmeg for the ginger and cloves since I couldn't find them in Argentina! Used frosting recipe 68975.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tatumis March 09, 2006

This is almost identical to a recipe I have, so I'll just review yours. The only difference I could see was that my recipe called for 2 teaspoons of baking soda and no baking powder (not sure how much of a difference this would make). In addition to the ingredients listed for your frosting, my recipe calls for 1 teaspoon vanilla and 3 teaspoons of milk (again I don't think this would change the flavour too much). This is an awesome cake! Moist and delicious and freezes well.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CrystalB March 31, 2005

Very moist!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara917 May 09, 2011

This is so good! I was looking for a recipe to try out a cake pan I have and chef#231054 suggested this might be a good one for what I wanted, so had to give it a try! I did halve the recipe because I knew I wouldn't need all the batter for the pan I was using ~ I used fresh pumpkin instead of the canned and also used half brown sugar and half white. This cake comes out so light and yummy and will be a great addition to the fall/Thanksgiving menu. I will be making it full size as it was intended as well. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe we'll enjoy again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Breezytoo September 23, 2009

Just realized I hadn't posted a review on this recipe. It's a recipe that I've had for quite a while and have made several times. I was getting ready to post it when I noticed that it was already here. It's a very easy cake to make (the frosting as well) -- it's very moist and perfect for Halloween/Thanksgiving/Christmas (although we love it ANY time of the year.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbie September 23, 2009

I have this same recipe and love it! It's wonderfully sweet and spicy, and just perfect for fall.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JeriBinNC October 20, 2006

I found this recipe in a magazine recently and am so glad that it is already posted here. This cake is so delicious. I love the fact that baking it in a jelly roll pan makes sort of bar-like pieces. I made as posted except for the frosting ~ I used 6 ozs. cream cheese, 6 tbsps. butter, 2 tsps vanilla, and 4 c. confectioners sugar. After frosting, I decorated with candy pumpkins. This would make a great dessert for Thanksgiving. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook October 10, 2006

Yum-Yum-Yum-Yum-Yum!!! I have probably made this 10 times since Fall. I do make a bigger batch of frosting than the one you have listed. But it is wonderful. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Family Maker January 23, 2006
Pumpkin Sheet Cake W/ Cream Cheese Frosting