86 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I have tried baking pumpkin seeds several different ways but had never boiled them first -- it makes a big difference that my whole family liked. Thanks!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myount19 November 15, 2002

Thanks for the wonderful recipe. My grandaughter always requests toasted pumpkin seeds every halloween. Based on here-say, I increased the salt to 1/4 cup and added 1/8 cup garlic salt as well as baking time to 45 minutes. The children in her class loved them. It was a nice halloween treat!!! We'll definately do this one every year.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Braunda November 05, 2002

Perfect, just what my family was looking for!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KarlaOregon October 28, 2002

This is an excellent recipe! I recently discovered an EASY and FAST way to clean the pumpkin seeds (which is the worst part of making pumpkin seeds). Place the seeds in water and stir with your hands to clean them; all of the clean seeds will float to the top while the pumpkin strings and flesh sink to the bottom. Use a slotted spoon to remove the seeds from the water!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Polar Bear October 30, 2005

I liked the boil then bake method, but my seeds were burned after 15 minutes at 350. I notice other recipes recommend 300 degrees, so I might try that next time. Liked the butter flavor and I subbed seasoning salt for the regular salt and added a shake of garlic powder. Will use this method again in the future with minor tweeking.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride November 18, 2008

I love pumpkin seeds!! they are kind of hard to eat but so good. I like this simple recipe that's a family fave for our extra pumpkin parts! If only every thing was so easy... :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evol October 02, 2010

Five stars, Tish, for this simple but perfect way to prepare those squash seeds I had been throwing out. These took about 45 minutes in my 300* oven to toast to a crunchy perfection. I used a white cheddar popcorn flavoring for the seasoning, could not stop eating these. Um, thanks.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MNLisaB November 07, 2009

I used this recipe last Halloween, the first time I tried the boiling method. I loved it, thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HollyLQuinn March 11, 2004

I overcooked only about 10 min by accident, and they were really burnt-tasting. I added salt b/c I'm a salt freak, but they didn't need it. I think soaking helps the plumpness, though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annlouise November 06, 2003

Turned out nicely..but I only added less than one Tbsp of salt and they are over-salted for me (and I like salt). Perhaps because I added salt to the boiling water as well?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surfin' chef November 01, 2014
Pumpkin Seeds