Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Scones Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Scones

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2003

      These were sooo delicious. My mom actually made them for us the morning after Thanksgiving. She is a much better baker than I will ever be. But I got to taste them. They had a moist texture and were ever so slightly crusty on the outside. We enjoyed them with butter and honey. Thanks Jan, for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      These scones were nice and moist, but I can't say that they tasted much like pumpkin(and I used 1 cup instead of 3/4). I also added 1tsp of cinnamon and 1tsp of vanilla. Next time I would maybe add a bit of fresh ground nutmeg, and more cinnamon. I did, however like that they weren't too sweet---and were fairly low in calories! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      My co-workers called these tasty scones a nice fall treat. I made using a full cup of pumpkin, and after reading some of the other reviews did double the sugar, also add 1/4 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      Jan I really enjoyed these today. I used fresh pumpkin from my garden that I am getting ready fror the freezer. These came out light and fluffy and I really enjoyed them. I did follow other suggestions with a smidge more sugar after the first batch for the sweet tooth I own.I also added some crushed walnuts to that same 2nd batch. Really good and light. Made for AUS/NZ Swap Nov2010

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Okay, despite the low sugar content, I was hoping they'd be sweeter and admit to feeling I'd wasted my pumpkin - at first. (We put smart balance and brown sugar on them to make a delectable treat.) I think they just weren't quite what I was expecting. The next day, I tried the leftovers again. Knowing they were not super sweet, I was able to appreciate the flavor and really enjoyed them. I will be making them again. I did use oil insteadf of butter and honey (2TBs) instead of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2007

    • on April 07, 2007

      I love the texture of cakes and muffins but not the too sweet. These were great. I didn't have self raising flour so I made some using 2 cups all purpose flour and 2 1/2 teaspoons of baking powder and 1/2 teaspoon of salt. I used two tablespoons of butter because that was what was left of the stick I was using. I also used closer to a cup of pumpkin and Egg Beaters. The biggest difference to the recipe was I used 1/3 cup of Splenda to make it a little sweeter without being as sweet as a muffin. These were perfect for my craving!! Thanks so much for the inspiration. I am a happy lady today...until I eat the rest and berate myself for the gluttony!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      Really yummy and easy I will be greasing the tray next time as they did stick a bit. I sprinkled cinnamon on top too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2006

      excellent! so easy and healthy. I used wholemeal SR flour. love the fact it doesn't have much sugar, so is good for my son to eat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      kind of rubbery and stuck terribly to the cookie sheet. Need to oil or grease cookie sheet before baking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2006

      Very good, especially considering how low in calories they are. I used egg replacer instead of egg and soy milk instead of milk, and they still turned out fine. Also, instead of self-raising flour I used all-purpose flour plus baking powder and salt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      It sure looked nice, but they were really rubbery because of the alck of fat. It was also very dry; two cups of flour could never have made it into the dough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2006

      These were yummy and delicious, light and full of pumpkin flavor. I loved that they were not sweet. The pumpkin gives them lots of moisture without adding much fat to the dish. Jazzed my dough up a bit by adding a teaspoon of cinnamon, some ginger, allspice and nutmeg to the flour. I also brushed the scones with a bit of milk and sprinkled a bit of turbinado sugar (about 1 1/2 tablespoons total) on the top. Can't wait to serve these in the morning.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      This is a lovely savory scone - love the light-orange color and mild flavor! Great with butter, dinner-roll style. I also tried the suggestion of more pumpkin and sugar - this made a sweeter scone that was very tastey without being too sweet. Thanks to both for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2005

      Fantastic! So easy to make and delicious eaten straight away with butter. Agreed, a subtle flavour but nice and light and fluffy. Definitely didn't need the milk, my dough was very sticky. Thanks Jan :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      I used whole wheat pastry flour plus baking powder to make self raising flour. I found these to be subtly flavored, not like the sweet scones I am used to. But a little butter and they were a nice savory scone. I also used splenda to make them diabetic friendly and definitely needed the milk. Thanks for a neat one to try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2004

      This is very similar to a recipe I already use - Lady Flo's Famous Pumpkin Scones (traditional Australian) 1 tablespoon butter 1/2 cup sugar 1/4 teaspoon salt 1 egg 1 cup mashed pumpkin (cold) 2 cups Self raising flour the method is the same, a great way to get my kids to eat their vegetables. Also, I find that mimimal handling of the dough produces scones that rise more evenly. These are delicious eaten hot from the oven with butter & yummy toasted the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2003

      These are really good and easy to make. I ate these warm with jam. Thanks Jan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2002

    « Previous 1 Next »

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Scones Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Scones

    Serving Size: 1 (429 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 97.0
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    14%
    Total Fat 1.6 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 18.2 mg
    6%
    Sodium 15.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.6 g
    2%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    4%
    Protein 2.8 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes