32 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a wonderful recipe. It's almost exactly like my own. There was a question on how much total time it takes to prepare. It takes 15 minutes to cook cake, 15 minutes to prepare and spread filling and chill last for about an hour. So a total time of 1 hr and 30 minutes. Your instructions on how to cook this were very understandable to me. Thanks for a great recipe!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Krystal Shankle December 27, 2001

The recipe gets five stars bc/ of its ease, presentation, and yumminess. I followed the directions exactly (w/a 2.5 yr old "helper") - nice detail. What some might not realize, however, is that the powdered sugar serves as a barrier so that the cake doesn't stick; use a LOT of powdered sugar (you can brush/shake it off when you frost/etc). We made the cake at night, rolled it up, then wrapped the cake/towel in plastic wrap & left it in the fridge. The next morning, we filled the cake (omitting nuts, bc/ we were also serving pecan pie). Prior to serving, I put a dusting of powdered sugar for decoration. So easy! Raves from all.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caromcg November 25, 2011

Made this yesterday. I was impatient and forgot to sprinkle on the powdered sugar when I took it out of the oven so it sort of stuck to the towel and ended up cracking. But it was absolutely delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tesstastic April 17, 2011

I've made this a few times from the Libby's can. It's excellent. I used the recipe as is but bumped up the cinnamon a bit and used coursely chopped pecans as well as tripling the recipe. I had a rough time with the rolling in the past, sticking to the towel and cracking the cake. This time I used pillow cases to roll the cake and that worked perfectly. I also put them outside to cool while rolled up.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
OKC3094 December 26, 2010

Excellent. Mine stuck to the pan, I think I put the wrong side of the wax paper up, and then it cracked, but who cares it was so delicious! I used a fancy Mexican vanilla that had a sort of lemony essence which was outstanding in the cream cheese filling. This might be my husband's new favorite and he is one picky senor. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz October 31, 2013

What a great dessert for the holidays. It has great pumpkin flavor and looks impressive too. DD is not a fan of pies so I always make something else and this was hit. The men all have a piece of pie AND a slice of this pumpkin roll. Thank you for sharing with lovely dessert with us. A big hit in this house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour December 03, 2012

This recipe is great! I can't believe how easy it was to make, your directions were clear and precise. I didn't think I could roll it without breaking it but it turned out beautifully. It did try to stick a little to my linen towel but I think it's because the towel I used is about 60 years old and well used. My husband thanks you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skarimom from Idaho December 25, 2010

A nice addition to the Thanksgiving Day dessert pie selection. BIG HIT, Easy to make, delicious, and the extra freezes beautifully!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kitchen Wannabe December 12, 2010

Very nice--the cake did not crack and assembled very well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodLoveAffair November 21, 2010
Pumpkin Roll