Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin risotto Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin risotto

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2002

      Creamy tasty risotto, really love the addition of the Parmesan, great flavours, and easy to make too. Thanks for posting. =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2002

    • on October 30, 2010

      This is a good recipe. I am giving it 3 stars because we thought it needed some spices. We added fresh parsley, thyme and rosemary from our garden. The addition of the fresh herbs flavored this dish very nicely. We also used leftover canned pumpkin instead of fresh. Great use for leftover canned pumpkin after recipes that don't use the whole can!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      Awesome recipe, I keep a stock in my freezer for days I don't want to cook. Better with more pumpkin than less and is so tasty that the cheese is not needed if dieting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2009

      I'm a huge risotto fan and this was outstanding. I love the contrast of the sweet pumpkin/squash and the bite of the salty cheese. I added a little sage to give it a more earthy flavor and threw in some leftover chicken to make it a complete meal. My 3yr old loved it as well! Definitely something to make again and again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      Oh, wow, this was soooo good. Dh usually refuses to eat anything with pumpkin in it but I talked him into taking a bite and he loved it. I was really worried it would be bland and hubby is a really meat guy so I browned some ground sausage and added it at the end. This was so flavorful. Also, I used cilantro instead of parsley as that was what I had on hand. PS - for those that don't know what 15 g of butter is... it's 1 tablespoon...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2013

      Delicious! I dislike mushrooms so I omitted them from the recipe and added spinach leaves and chorizo instead. Tasted soooo good and received 5 star reactions from those who I begrudgingly shared it with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      This was my first attempt at making risotto & all went really well. I added chicken, fresh thyme and rosemary salt (herbs suggested by other reviewers) and they made all the difference. This was a very tasty comfort meal - can't believe I waited all these years to start making risotto. Thank you for your clear instructions to help me make great risotto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2010

      I loved this! I thought it was very tasty and super creamy. I also used brown rice, which took a little longer but still turned out terrific. The best part is that my 14 month old daughter loved it too! We'll make this again, and even try different variations.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      The family love to eat this risotto so yummy with a garden salad, so happy i found this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      Pretty nice but not the best risotto I've made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2010

      Wonderful! I used brown rice, pureed pumpkin and omitted the butter. I also just threw it in the rice cooker... does that still make it risotto? Oh well, it was delicious! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      We had friends over for dinner last night and I made this lovely risotto using my homemade stock. The only change I made was I added a chopped leek and some diced pancetta with the onion. This was so lovely and everyone raved about it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2010

      This was very good! Of course, I realized as I was opening a can of pumpkin that this recipe meant 'pumpkin' in the British sense, which is what I would call a 'squash'. However, I used almost an entire 15oz can and it didn't even taste pumpkin-y so I don't think it matters. I did end up using about twice as much broth as what the recipe called for... I must have had very thirsty rice :) I love the way the parmesan tasted in there-- be sure to use a sharp parm so you can really taste it. My whole family loved it, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2010

      Very nice dish! I used frozen butternut squash cubes that I thawed out. I like to keep my stock going in the microwave while I'm standing there stirring. And you definitely have to stay with it stirring if you want it to come out right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      One of the best online recipes I've ever tried. I'm at the stage of gardening/harvesting where I need 101 pumpkin recipes, and this was a nice change of pace. VERY tasty, a bit slow (I think more than 30 min) and needs very frequent stirring, but excellent taste, color, texture! Will definitely make again. I used a whole package 8 oz of mushrooms, also pre-cooked pumpkin puree. Until now I didn't realize that I had forgotten to add the parmesan cheese. But like the best recipes, this clearly took well to some creative license. YUM

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Excellent dish especially considering how easy it is!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      One of the best and easiest recipes out there - made it last night and it was gone so quickly I didn't even have leftovers to bring to work :C This is despite having family members who aren't too keen on risotto. Love this recipe. Thanks chef. I used cheddar instead of parmesan, added small chunks of ricotta and fetta to the mix as well. 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

      I love this risotto. I've made it a few times, usually with squash that I've precooked. This time I also used some rehydrated dried morels from last spring.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      First, I'd like to say that this is the *first* time I've had risotto turn out correctly! I pre-steamed the butternut squash, however, next time I think I will cook it even more, because it kind of caused a textural outlier which none of my family was particularly fond of. In any case, I will DEFINITELY make this again--especially come autumn. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin risotto

    Serving Size: 1 (187 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 405.6
     
    Calories from Fat 94
    23%
    Total Fat 10.5 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 4.6 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 19.0 mg
    6%
    Sodium 221.5 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 65.7 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 3.0 g
    12%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    8%
    Protein 11.2 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    stock

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites