33 Reviews

WOW! I halved the recipe, and halved the sugar (so instead of 1.5 cups I used 3/4 cup, and half white half brown) I used mostly WW pastry flour, with .25 cup AP flour, added vanilla, and used soymilk instead of water. I also added chocolate chips to half of them, ommitting the raisins completely. They were PLENTY sweet! I was surprised the recipe called for 3 cups sugar. My usual recipe uses .5cup sugar for 2cups flour, so if you want to, or are worried about calories, halve the sugar and you won't miss a thing!!! The whole wheat flour makes the muffins sit lighter in the stomach, and I feel better about eating them. Try them!! Amazing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JungleLove October 12, 2009

Great muffin recipe. Added raisins to half and pecans to the other half. Didn't use pumpkin pie spice due to allergy but cinnamon, ginger and nutmeg instead. Delicious! Love the texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLu January 13, 2009

I made 1/3 of this recipe. Used one egg + 1.5 tsp chia seeds and had good consistency. Used olive oil (which another reviewer thought tasted funny, but I definitely didn't mind) and a little less sugar but far more raisins than suggested. Topped with oats, looks fabulous. Made 14 muffins, baked for 20 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lancasterin November 12, 2014

This is the second pumpkin muffin recipe I tried this season and it beat the other one by a mile! Only issue I had is that the batter was really thin so the raisins ended up at the bottom of the pan and tasted a little burned. Most likely a measuring issue on my part though. Would definitely make again and I think at least half of the oil could be substituted with applesauce. I only cooked for 25 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mochelle November 01, 2014

These are wonderful muffins! There is a restaurant about an hour from my house that has wonderful Pumpkin Raisin Muffins. I have driven there just for the muffins! These are just as good, but way more convenient!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ransomhouse October 13, 2010

After eating these for 4 days straight and not getting sick of them I can officially say these are AMAZING!!!!!!!! I did omit the raisins, and made my own pumpkin pie spice by doubling what my pie recipe uses. Thank you for the best muffin recipe I have ever tried!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristing May 12, 2010

These are the BEST ever! I also subbed 2/3 of the sugar with brown sugar and omitted the raisins and these muffins were absolutely fabulous. Moist, flavorful. These don't stay around long. I made a double batch of batter so poured some in a 9 x 9 cake pan and baked a bit longer. Worked great. Wonderful! Thank you for posting this "best-ever" recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandbug November 17, 2009

Excellent! Subbed 2/3 of the sugar with brown sugar and omitted the raisins, and they're fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dani Joy November 01, 2009

DELICIOUS! 10 STARS for this recipe. I rarely use oil when I bake as it is flavorless and often sub. it with butter or margarine. However I decided to try it with oil as the reviews seemed so good. Well the results were wonderful. The flavor is lovely and the spices are just right. I used all the sugar, and put some choc. chips in one batch. I had no raisins.They bake up beautifully round and darkish orange, just terrific. I had 36 average size muffins! for posting this recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lilypads October 16, 2009

The whole family loved this one! And I shared it with my sister who made a batch and sent them with her 8 y/o son to school for the class. Her teacher had sent her an email requesting the recipe before she even made it home from dropping him off!!! These are good to freeze and pull out later too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristi Nicole February 11, 2009
Pumpkin Raisin Muffins