Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Puree Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Puree

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2008

      I so prefer this way to the boiling method. Also, If you hate handling the seeds and slimy gunk inside the pumpkin just use your pasta scooper, claw type spoon with slots, to remove most of it. I simply cut my pumpkins in half and laid them open side down to bake. then I scooped the cooked flesh out- very easy!! I wait for the pumpkins to go on sale then make mass amounts of puree and store in the freezer, cause I heard you can't can pumpkin unless you have a pressure canner. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      Great instructions!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2009

      Just the recipe I needed. Even made my own pumpkin pie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2013

      Easy and delicious, perfect for pumpkin pie. Thanks to the reviewer who suggested using a pasta fork to help pull the seeds etc out - I just scraped out what the fork didn't get with a spoon and it went pretty quickly. I used this recipe for Thanksgiving Pumpkin Pie (http://www.food.com/recipe/thanksgiving-pumpkin-pie-uses-fresh-pumpkin-105977) and it was wonderful. I still have almost a pint jar of leftovers (I used two small pumpkins, which totaled 4 lbs whole), so I'm looking forward to finding another recipe to try. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Thanks....didn't know how to do this and day after Halloween, needed these great instuctions. Turned out great and found that poking with a fork half way through cooking helped the process along. A little messy when peeling, but that is half the fun :) I am also experimenting with the crock pot method, but baking the pumpkins seems to feel the best way to go!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2009

      So easy to do, and made my pumpkin muffins incomparable!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2009

      Worked Great! Thanks so much. I have never had any experience using pumpkins before so I wasn't sure what the process was :) I was surprised at the simplicity. I went ahead and added pumpkin pie spices to mine and put the mixture in the Ball Plastic Freezer Jars :) Two small pumpkins for pies filled 2 of the 32 oz Ball Freezer Conatiners.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      Great basic recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      This worked great! I had some fresh homegrown pumpkins that I wanted to turn into a pumpkin pie. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and just scooped out the flesh after cooking with a spoon rather than peeling the pumpkin. Worked great in my pie! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2007

      Very easy and smelled delicious as the pumpkin was baking. This was my first attempt at pumpkin anything as I'm a Brit and it's not quite caught on as much in the UK but it will definitely be a regular in our family from now on

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2007

      Thank you for this! I didn't know making pumpkin puree was so simple!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      Thanks for the directions. Worked out good. I dont know if it was the small pumpkins I had or if its all small pumpkins but those things were extremely hard and almost imposible to cut. Becareful if you run into this too...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2005

      Perfect! Thanks for posting the directions! Check out Sue L's review for great tips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2005

      My first time making pumpkin puree, and following these instructions I had no problems. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2005

      Love making pumpkin puree for 'real' pumpkin pies! Just a note for people who do this for the first time. A lady at the pumpkin patch told me to select a 'sugar' pumpkin. They are the baking type. Sugar pumpkins are smallish and have little yellow flecks in the skin. Just FYI - enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2004

      Works great! I have used this same method for years. It produces about 1 cup of puree per pound of pumpkin. I like to use sugar pumpkins (about the size of a cantaloupe) as they have the best flavor, moreso than something you would carve for a jack-o-lantern. I bake till tender, then cool and scoop out the pulp with an ice cream scoop. After pureeing, if it is a bit watery, I sometimes drain that overnight in the refrigerator in a coffee filter. I freeze most in 2 cup portions in freezer bags, but also make some 1 cup bags for smaller recipes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Puree

    Serving Size: 1 (0 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh pumpkin

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes