16 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I so prefer this way to the boiling method. Also, If you hate handling the seeds and slimy gunk inside the pumpkin just use your pasta scooper, claw type spoon with slots, to remove most of it. I simply cut my pumpkins in half and laid them open side down to bake. then I scooped the cooked flesh out- very easy!! I wait for the pumpkins to go on sale then make mass amounts of puree and store in the freezer, cause I heard you can't can pumpkin unless you have a pressure canner. Thanks for posting!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BethHallKelley November 24, 2008

Great instructions!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jean December 06, 2009

Just the recipe I needed. Even made my own pumpkin pie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 November 05, 2009

Easy and delicious, perfect for pumpkin pie. Thanks to the reviewer who suggested using a pasta fork to help pull the seeds etc out - I just scraped out what the fork didn't get with a spoon and it went pretty quickly. I used this recipe for Thanksgiving Pumpkin Pie (http://www.food.com/recipe/thanksgiving-pumpkin-pie-uses-fresh-pumpkin-105977) and it was wonderful. I still have almost a pint jar of leftovers (I used two small pumpkins, which totaled 4 lbs whole), so I'm looking forward to finding another recipe to try. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nevdiliel December 29, 2013

Thanks....didn't know how to do this and day after Halloween, needed these great instuctions. Turned out great and found that poking with a fork half way through cooking helped the process along. A little messy when peeling, but that is half the fun :) I am also experimenting with the crock pot method, but baking the pumpkins seems to feel the best way to go!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sue's Kitchen November 01, 2011

So easy to do, and made my pumpkin muffins incomparable!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wesandmelissa October 23, 2009

Worked Great! Thanks so much. I have never had any experience using pumpkins before so I wasn't sure what the process was :) I was surprised at the simplicity. I went ahead and added pumpkin pie spices to mine and put the mixture in the Ball Plastic Freezer Jars :) Two small pumpkins for pies filled 2 of the 32 oz Ball Freezer Conatiners.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
B-J-Burrell September 24, 2009

Great basic recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sadieveggirl February 28, 2009

This worked great! I had some fresh homegrown pumpkins that I wanted to turn into a pumpkin pie. I took the suggestion of other reviewers and just scooped out the flesh after cooking with a spoon rather than peeling the pumpkin. Worked great in my pie! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuliJ December 02, 2008

Very easy and smelled delicious as the pumpkin was baking. This was my first attempt at pumpkin anything as I'm a Brit and it's not quite caught on as much in the UK but it will definitely be a regular in our family from now on

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Welsh Steph November 03, 2007
Pumpkin Puree