9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this last night, adding cheese and parsley, but unfortunately my husband and I both thought it was too bland. Since I have a lot of pumpkin to use up, I decided to make it again tonight, only this time I added chipotle pepper, cilantro, and a bit of honey, and we ended up really liking it that way. I might experiment with different additions in the future.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Orchard October 16, 2009

Wonderful dish - I added cheese, bacon and moroccan seasoning and we all loved it. DD aged 17 looked at it and said it just looked like mashed pumpkin and then proceeded to clear her plate totally ! Next time will add herbs from the garden but it was too chilly for me to make the foray but there will be a next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew June 08, 2009

Everyone loved this and gobbled it right up. I added 1/4 cup of shredded parmesan in with the egg yolks and did the rest just as described. It took about 35 minutes of cooking 'til set but was light and airy right out of the oven. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joy of jess November 18, 2008

I made this last night, substituting a sweet potato for some of the pumpkin. I didn't weigh the final amount of pumpkin/potato & I think I should have used another egg because it didn't set up all the way. I also added about 1/2 cup of toasted pecan pieces and it was wonderful. Next time I will weigh the ingredients. Thank you for something new and different to make for dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmommy209 November 02, 2008

Made this for dinner last night. I actually microwaved the pumpkin, let it cool and then removed skin ....sooo easy this way !! I used parsley and cheese, and it turned out great. A great easy and tasty way to serve pumpkin, even the two non-pumpkin eaters loved They thought it tasted like a pumpkin quiche !!!! They hate pumpkin ...love quiche and want this again.... I am ain't telling them its not quiche!!! Great recipe Jen T, I certainly will be making this one again, and next time (like the other reviewers) I will be trying it with bacon..... yummy !!! ...Thanks again for another great recipe Jen !!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tisme August 11, 2007

I so appreciate having recipes from neighbours. We enjoyed this with grilled lamb chops. I added 1/2 a small onion (chopped finely) and about 1/3 cup of chopped parsley. Next time I will also add your suggestions of cheese and bacon. Fussy Aunt Esther wanted more kick, so I will also add some tabasco, cayenne or chili flakes. Before we tasted the finished dish, we wondered if it might need salt, but it didn't. Thanks Jen for such an interesting, new way with pumpkin. I expect to make this often in future. I can imagine boiling the pumpkin in the morning -- or even the night before -- and having the whole concoction ready to go in the oven about 30 minutes before dinner is ready. Too easy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy August 09, 2007

This was devoured by both my girls and they loved watching it cook in through the oven glass. Tonight I added some dried parsley as I wanted to keep it fairly plain but next time I will take your advice and add bacon, onion and cheese. Such a versatile recipe. Thanks Jen for a keeper that I will use again and again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jewelies July 09, 2007

This was great, I did a half batch as only cooking for three and went the whole hog by adding bacon, onion, cheese & parsley. Fantastic & different side which was absolutely devoured by my 18 mth old, she was still stating "More" even when all gone. I served this with Meatloaf With BBQ Sauce & Mushroom, Red Pepper and Onion Saute.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** April 04, 2007

A different way for us to enjoy pumpkin, I added a little buter before mashing (lite) and some parsely flakes and a little grated cheese. Thanks Jen.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* March 12, 2006
Pumpkin Puff