27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'd give this eight stars if I could! I wasn't sure about the pumpkin, because sometimes the taste is overpowering, but this ROCKED! The pumpkin lent a richness, and a glorious color, but otherwise we couldn't taste it. I made it last night, and I'm making it again today before the the rest of the cilantro goes bad.....gonna freeze it. I used yogurt instead of sour cream, but otherwise followed it to a T. YUM YUM YUM!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali November 29, 2008

made this for my pumpkin feast I do every halloween, and it was a sensation!, everone loved it. I didnt have any homeny for I just left it out, and I used Ground chicken instead of Pieces. FOlks are still asking me for the recipe, THanks for your submission of this great recipe

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Recipe Baroness November 10, 2009

Wow, this is yummy! :) I cooked it in a crockpot on high for 4 1/2 hours (putting it all in at once, except for the sour cream and cumin added in the last 30 minutes). I didn't have celery, so I used fennel (cooked texture is very similar). I added a can of Rotel tomatoes. This is a recipe we'll be making again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julesong January 03, 2005

My husband loved this recipe! As I usually do, I tweaked the ingredients to suit our picky selves. The recipe didn't need much changing; I didn't use any chicken, and I left out the sour cream. Also, when the soup was finished cooking, I pureed half of it with my hand blender to make it nice and creamy and thick. I loved the cilantro and used some for a garnish, as well as quick a few healthy dashes of hot sauce. I know my husband will be asking for this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema May 11, 2003

This is a wonderful stew! I have given the recipe to friends with kids and they loved it too even after turning up their noses at pumpkin. I have substituted yoghurt with good results and also made it with sweet potatoes rather than pumpkin and love it that way too. Thank you so much for this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TownNCountry May 07, 2003

Delicious! I wasn't sure if my family would like it - but it is a definite "do over". I didn't really measure anything, just kind of eyeballed. I also had to substitute corn for hominy, and didn't have any cilantro either. I definitely will try again with the hominy & cilantro. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PB & J October 13, 2013

Giving it 3 stars for the nutritional value but as far as flavor, we thought it was very bland. I followed the recipe exactly as written & used parsley for the sub. for cilantro. Sorry but this crew just thought it was tasteless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carol G. October 04, 2013

Good for using chicken, and also some spicy pumpkin soup both of which I had I had leftover, so didn't add the chicken stock. Unfortunately I still thought it was a bit bland and had to add quite a bit more mexican seasoning to it, a couple dried lime peels (ie the zest but in big peels and air-dried) plus a home dried, smoked jalapeno chili. I also added some chopped fresh tomatoes - only because they were a tad past their best. And we don't have hominy in Scotland, so added sweetcorn at the end. I think the sour cream and fresh coriander (cilantro) are essential. A solid 3.5 score.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bridget C November 20, 2011

My son found this recipe, as he wanted to use a squash he'd bought. I cooked the squash in the microwave, and diced half, to use in the recipe. We added 2 small poblanos from our garden along with other veggies. I stirred a carton of greek yogurt in for the sour cream; however it didn't do much. We added a spoonful onto each bowl and garnished with more cilantro. Paired nicely with a pumpkin ale and some hearty bread. Great stew.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlomaryland September 27, 2011

This is so very good! I experimented with it a few times, adding garlic, but the original recipe is still the best to me. When I serve it I add a dollup of sour cream and some more cilantro, some serrano pepper slices and some avacado and squeeze of lime as recommended. I crave this stuff!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nickinsmokerise April 07, 2011
Pumpkin Posole