Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Posole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Posole

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2008

      I'd give this eight stars if I could! I wasn't sure about the pumpkin, because sometimes the taste is overpowering, but this ROCKED! The pumpkin lent a richness, and a glorious color, but otherwise we couldn't taste it. I made it last night, and I'm making it again today before the the rest of the cilantro goes bad.....gonna freeze it. I used yogurt instead of sour cream, but otherwise followed it to a T. YUM YUM YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2009

      made this for my pumpkin feast I do every halloween, and it was a sensation!, everone loved it. I didnt have any homeny for I just left it out, and I used Ground chicken instead of Pieces. FOlks are still asking me for the recipe, THanks for your submission of this great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2005

      Wow, this is yummy! :) I cooked it in a crockpot on high for 4 1/2 hours (putting it all in at once, except for the sour cream and cumin added in the last 30 minutes). I didn't have celery, so I used fennel (cooked texture is very similar). I added a can of Rotel tomatoes. This is a recipe we'll be making again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2003

      My husband loved this recipe! As I usually do, I tweaked the ingredients to suit our picky selves. The recipe didn't need much changing; I didn't use any chicken, and I left out the sour cream. Also, when the soup was finished cooking, I pureed half of it with my hand blender to make it nice and creamy and thick. I loved the cilantro and used some for a garnish, as well as quick a few healthy dashes of hot sauce. I know my husband will be asking for this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2003

      This is a wonderful stew! I have given the recipe to friends with kids and they loved it too even after turning up their noses at pumpkin. I have substituted yoghurt with good results and also made it with sweet potatoes rather than pumpkin and love it that way too. Thank you so much for this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2013

      Delicious! I wasn't sure if my family would like it - but it is a definite "do over". I didn't really measure anything, just kind of eyeballed. I also had to substitute corn for hominy, and didn't have any cilantro either. I definitely will try again with the hominy & cilantro. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2013

      Giving it 3 stars for the nutritional value but as far as flavor, we thought it was very bland. I followed the recipe exactly as written & used parsley for the sub. for cilantro. Sorry but this crew just thought it was tasteless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2011

      Good for using chicken, and also some spicy pumpkin soup both of which I had I had leftover, so didn't add the chicken stock. Unfortunately I still thought it was a bit bland and had to add quite a bit more mexican seasoning to it, a couple dried lime peels (ie the zest but in big peels and air-dried) plus a home dried, smoked jalapeno chili. I also added some chopped fresh tomatoes - only because they were a tad past their best. And we don't have hominy in Scotland, so added sweetcorn at the end. I think the sour cream and fresh coriander (cilantro) are essential. A solid 3.5 score.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2011

      My son found this recipe, as he wanted to use a squash he'd bought. I cooked the squash in the microwave, and diced half, to use in the recipe. We added 2 small poblanos from our garden along with other veggies. I stirred a carton of greek yogurt in for the sour cream; however it didn't do much. We added a spoonful onto each bowl and garnished with more cilantro. Paired nicely with a pumpkin ale and some hearty bread. Great stew.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      This is so very good! I experimented with it a few times, adding garlic, but the original recipe is still the best to me. When I serve it I add a dollup of sour cream and some more cilantro, some serrano pepper slices and some avacado and squeeze of lime as recommended. I crave this stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2011

      DEEEELICIOUS! I loved it! It filled our house with a comforting aroma. I took a picture before we ate it, and my mouth was watering. The steaming bowl was just sitting under my nose tempting me to eat it first and take a picture of whatever was left. Luckily I was able to hold out.
      I chose the crock pot method, but I added the cumin in the begining (by accident) with everything but the sour cream. Also, I added more cilantro (a weakness of mine), broth and red peppers. I added a few dashes of chili powder to add a little spice. I chose to use boneless, skinless chicken thighs. I put them in whole and frozen & broke them into bite-size pieces right before I added the sour cream.
      When I did add the sour cream in the last half hour, I only added half of what the recipe calls for. I added the remainder as dollops in each bowl, garnished with some more chopped cilantro.
      We made biscuit nuggets (recipe to be posted shortly) and dipped them in the soup. AWESOME combo!
      I have 3 daughters and they all loved it! My 11 y.o. asked if she could take some to school for lunch the next day, adding "if there's any left over". My 3 y.o. decided she liked to scoop the soup with the cooked onions as if they were chips and dip (she's never liked onions before) better than she liked eating it with a spoon. And my 2 y.o. was speechless. She was too busy chowing down to talk! I'd say that's 5 stars from each of us.
      Thank you sooo much for sharing this recipe! I will be making this again. And again. And again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      As I expected, this got a mixed reaction from my family. I liked it more than I thought I wouild. I made very minor adjustments in seasonings. The kids thought the color was just too strange and couldn't get past it. I would make this again just for me when I want something different. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2010

      Yummers! I added some pickled jalapeno and liquid from the jar for a little heat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Fabulous! My 13-year-old son ate it three times in one day. I didn't tell him it had pumkin in it though :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

    • on March 01, 2009

      This is a delicious stew recipe - I have made it with chicken parts & now with cubed bottom roast (DH ate the chicken I was going to use). Using beef & beef stock made for a wonderful filling stew - I did add about a cup of canned diced tomato after browning the beef & both times increased the fresh ground cumin to about 1 1/2- 2 t. The nutmeg is a surprisingly delicious addition - it really is nice. Left out the sour cream as I want to avoid the curdling risk when re-heating & am avoiding the calories. We love pumpkin - a great source of vitamins & fiber. Thank you Amber of AZ! We will use this recipe (& rifts there of) often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      We LOVED this pozole! My niece doesn't eat pumpkin, but she loved this, and asked for leftovers to take home! WOW! We added sliced radishes and shredded cabbage at serving and lots of lime, too! That's pozole for us, so we couldn't help ourselves. YUM! Thank you Amber for a recipe that really suits our family!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      YUM!!! I didn't have hominy or chicken broth...but substituted with cream of chicken soup and nixed the sour cream. I added Paprika and Ginger....this is delicious! My husbands had 3 bowls!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2006

      This was really good, but it felt like it was missing something (a spice??). I also felt that the sour cream was unneccessary, so I will leave it out next time. My husband and I just LOVED the hominy -- it really added something special. We will make this one again in the slowcooker and experiment with new spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2006

      Felt like it was missing something...I didn't put bell pepper (DH doesn't like it), but did everything else. Added a bit more pepper and cumin. It tasted much better with some Tapatio, though. I might doctor it up for burritos...add some chiles, canned tomatoes (like other posters)...? I don't know...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Posole

    Serving Size: 1 (226 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.7
     
    Calories from Fat 80
    38%
    Total Fat 8.9 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 3.1 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 58.3 mg
    19%
    Sodium 610.0 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 12.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 19.4 g
    38%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes