65 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is an excellent recipe. My daughter loves pumpkin pie but she prefers this one; so it is going to be a keeper for us. Thank you for sharing that recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeannetess October 23, 2008

I have had this recipe saved for almost a year and a half now and am so excited to have finally made it! Used fat free evaporated milk and didn't notice a difference, but do recommend letting it completely cool in the fridge before serving. Didn't use the topping since not everyone likes nuts and thought it was a bit more like pumpkin pie. Even tastier the next day! Nice tall dessert- thanks Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend October 15, 2008

This is one of the BEST pumpkin recipes I have come across. I plan on making this for my Thanksgiving pumpkin pie, by using two 9" pie plates instead of the 13x 9 pan. Everyone who tries this wants the recipe. Thank you so much for sharing, Marg!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MessyChef October 11, 2008

5 star all the way baby! My DH loved it! Had two pieces in 1 sitting! Will make it again for Christmas. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shygirl October 01, 2008

I made 1/2 recipe for an 8x8 pan. I used 1/4 of the filling recipe, based on a previous review. I missed the step about baking before putting the topping on, but they still turned out really well (the topping just kind of caramelized and melted into the bars a little. The flavor was great! Made the house smell wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissLinguist September 19, 2008

At first I didn't like this recipe until I put it in the fridge and tasted it again the next day. WOW! Pumpkin Perfection. It's a must for Thanksgiving and super great for potlucks. I can't wait to make this one again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ihvhope September 14, 2008

That's a good picture of the pumpkin pie squares, Pam-I-Am. We couldn't get ours to be that nice during the photography stage plus we had to keep knocking everyone's hands away that wanted to steal the subject before the picture was actually taken! Seriously, these were very good...easier than pie, literally. My daughter made this as her first ever recipe she made all by herself and she was so so proud that it turned out tasting so good. We made this as part of the Christmas dinner and there was leftover everything but this! The whole pan was gone and when no one was looking, I scraped the platter clean! We will add this to every Holiday meal as a permanent replacement to pumpkin pie. Scrumptious! Thanks, Marg.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Dalton January 19, 2008

Another great recipe that I originally got from Taste of Home. Our homeschool group has a big fall festival every year near Thanksgiving, and I often choode this recipe to take. The flavor is wonderful, it's easy to transport and the bar form makes it perfect for our pot-luck style feast. I never expect to bring home leftovers! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sweet Diva December 21, 2007

Excellent recipe!!! The changes I made were: I used 1 cup brown sugar for the filling, I doubled the oat crust and doubled the topping plus I added 1 cup shredded coconut to the topping, I tripled the spices because I love a really spicy pumpkin pie filling. Easy and super-delicious! Thank you for a great recipe :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rusticgirl December 21, 2007
Pumpkin Pie Squares