66 Reviews

SOOOOO GOOD!!! Be sure to grease the pan, I didn't. I will make this EVERY Thanksiving! Thank You!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
texanmom June 21, 2013

Excellent, I never bake and I have decided to use this website and take a chance. It is not hard to make and it looks and tastes like I am a professional. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
marie,rainey1 November 10, 2012

The year this recipe was printed in Taste of Home magazine, I made it for Thanksgiving. For every Thanksgiving since, It has replaced our traditional pumpkin pie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms. Poppy May 20, 2012

Fabulous, rich and decadent!! Thank you for a wonderful pumpkin dessert to go along with the pies this year on our Thanksgiving dessert table!! Everyone said this is a 'repeat' in our Family...that's a good thing!!
Thanks again for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP November 25, 2011

This is amazing!! I don't know if we can get canned pumpkin here, so I just microwaved, pureed then sieved pumpkin which worked great. Yum yum, thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Runnerr May 21, 2011

This is a great recipe- the flavor is like pumpkin pie, but in a handy bar form- it was perfect for my office party, and it got rave reviews- everyone wanted the recipe! thanks so much for posting it, I'll be making it many more times.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
troutlily December 07, 2010

Made this for Thanksgiving because I couldn't decide between pumpkin bars with icing or pumkin pie and this seemed to be the best of both worlds. I made as directed, but wish the filling would hold up a bit better. I made a day early and first day was great (we sampled some with breakfast-great with coffee by the way!). The second day the crust was not as crisp, the filling seemed to weep a bit. I would maybe add an egg or two next time to the filling, maybe this would bind it together and make more custardy? Maybe double the topping next time too and add a couple tablespoons flour or oatmeal? Either way, it was great and enjoyed by all~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin kell November 25, 2010

I love and hate this recipe!! It's wonderful, but my husband has to have pumpkin bars and my son insists on pumpkin pie -- double work, double calories, LOL!! But what's a good wife and mom supposed to do, right?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
biyadelvalle November 19, 2010

I wasn't sure my bars were going to turn out at first. Fortunately, I went back and read many of the other reviews and was relieved I wasn't the only one having issues. The batter is very runny and took at least twice as long to bake as the directions called for. I too would have doubled or tripled the topping. In the end, once it cooled the bars were delicious. They ended up being worth the wait. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ann 3 November 17, 2010

4.5 stars. Great flavor. I reduced sugar a bit (used all brown sugar, measured according to the recipe but not very pack), added salt to both the crust and the topping, doubled the topping and added 2 tbsp flour (despite the addition, the topping was still a little runny). I also used most (but not all) of the 12oz milk (I think it depends on how thick your pumpkin puree is). Both the crust and the topping are not crispy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
myoungp August 26, 2010
Pumpkin Pie Squares