Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Pie Spice Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Pie Spice Bread

    Average Rating:

    65 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 65

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2011

      The first time I make a recipe I always make it as it is posted and I am so glad I did that this time because it is perfect! Great recipe--the only thing I would maybe do differently is add a little more spices (like slightly heaping) as a matter of personal taste and some vanilla but really the recipe is great as is! It is absolutely a great fall recipe and today was overcast and just felt like a baking kind of day...my house smells wonderful from this bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Made a bunch of changes, nothing too drastic. Put 1 scant cup brown sugar and 1 scant cup white sugar, used the 'alternatives', doubled the spices and added 1/2 cup oats instead of the last cup of flour, all of which was whole wheat. Oh, and I sprinkled in some ground flax. But the kicker was when I forgot to add the eggs and baked them into muffins, and they still turned out delicious! A little dense, but I certainly surprised myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      I made this bread with the applesauce option and 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar. I honestly felt a bit letdown, it just wasn't very "pumkin-ey". I made a cream cheese glaze which helped the bread a bit, but my vacuum cleaner hubby was the only one who really ate it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      Outstanding! I used fresh pumpkin, just 3 eggs (ran out, but 3 worked fine) and 1/2 cup oil. I also added some ginger to the recipe and a cored, skined apple that I used the blender to dice in to small pieces. The bread was extremely moist and tasted great. Next time I think I'll add some chocolate chips to one of the loafs. Thanks for sharing a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2008

      This is so good! It is so moist. I substituted 3 teaspoons pumpkin pie spice for the spices listed in the recipe. I baked this in mini loaf pans for Christmas gifts at church. I put 3/4 cup batter in each pan and it made 8 mini loaves. I baked it at 325 for 45-50 minutes. I will try next time substituting applesauce for some of the oil. Thank you for sharing this recipe. It is wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2008

      Wonderful recipe! I made this in three small loaf pans and I'm taking one to my sister tomorrow when we go to her house for Thanksgiving dinner. It will make a great breakfast treat with a good cup of coffee. I used a cream cheese glaze on mine and it complements the bread beautifully. Love this, thanks for sharing the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      I've been meaning to do this review for months now.Yes,I love pumpkin bread and this was very tasty,nice and spicy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      I liked it. The recipe was fine as is. It was light and nice. I did take some liberties and tweak it the next time I made it. I did half coconut oil and half applesauce, half the sugar, added vanilla, extra spices, doubled the pumpkin and skipped the water. LOVED it that way! It had the flavor of pumpkin pie but it was still light and fluffy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Outstanding recipe! This is the second time I have made this and it has come out great every time. My husband and kids love it, it's great in the morning with a cup of hot tea. I followed the recipe but did use additional spices to pump up the flavor a bit. One thing I really like about this recipe is that all the ingredients (except the pumpkin, possibly) are all staples most people have in their pantry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      I used this recipe to make little pumpkin "muffins". You'll need about 3 muffin pans if you plan to do it that way, and they get a bit more of a "crust" if you don't put them in the little cupcake liners, which IMO adds a bit of extra depth to the overall taste/texture of the muffins.

      While we like the recipe "as-is", I'd definitely make some changes. I think I'd add a tad more spice, as it seems rather bland, although, some of this is cured after it fully cools and has time to sit--no eating them warm from the oven!

      Also, I don't know if anyone else noticed, but mine are a bit sticky to the touch even after being baked...I'm debating on adding a touch more flour next time to help reduce that so that they store a bit better. I also definitely plan to make the the healthier way next time, because I'd bet that really adds to the texture of the bread.

      Thanks for the recipe Marg!!! My little one is driving me crazy about pumpkin "cookies". ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2011

      So yummy! I've made this recipe several times and this is what I do: I use 1 1/2 c sugar, add a bit of vanilla to the pumpkin mixture, and in addition to the spices listed in the recipe, I add 1 (heaping) teaspoon of Pumpkin Pie Spice. This gives it a bit more flavor and a little ginger, too. And, I find that 60 min is too long--50 minutes and then letting it sit in the pans for another half hour seems to work with my crazy oven.

      I also add a pkg of milk choc chips and it's so delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2011

      Very Good! I followed the suggested recipe (subbing applesauce for most of the oil, reducing the sugar - although i used one cup reg sugar and one cup brown, becuase thats all i had). I also added a good cup of reconstituted raisins. The bread came out much darker than the picture shown ( ill figure out how to post the pic i took of my loaf later), But it was still delicious. waiting for the final verdict from my Best friend who is a pumpkin bread fanatic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2011

      I pulled the loaves out of the oven 20 minutes ago and just finished my first slice. I am in LOVE with this recipe! I am adding this to my personal recipe collection immediately! I made this just as written with no substituions and it turned out amazing! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2011

      This exact recipe has been in our family for over 40 years, and we just love it! Our kiddos are disgustingly healthy (thank God!), so I don't worry about the cup of oil...we don't make it every week, and olive oil works perfectly well.
      I do make these changes: I use half regular flour and half white whole wheat flour. It adds a mice nutty texture, and some health benefits. I also tend to bake it in a 9x13 pan, since I have bad luck getting it fully bakes in loaf pans.
      Our recipe calls for 2/3 cup water. I'll try cutting it to see if loaf pan baking works better- so thanks for that! :)
      This bread is quick and easy to make, and sooo delicious! It's really tasty as a side dish with any poultry dish, and the kids love it for breakfast. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      A nice loaf. I made my own pumpkin, so omitted the water (like another reviewer) and cut the sugar to 2 cups. Next time I may add a tablespoon or so of molasses. Looking forward to trying with applesauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2011

      I have been meaning to do this review for almost a year. This is the BEST pumpkin bread recipe I've found. I have passed it on to all of my friends. Folks, before you start making changes to this recipe, try it as Marg posted it. It's great exactly as it's written. I love the cloves in the recipe. Adds just the right touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2010

      A great bread for the holidays. It is moist, flavorful and makes two large loaves. One to give away and one to have with coffee for us! I used two cups of sugar and loved the spice combination. Thanks for making our holiday season extra yummy! Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2010

      Yummy yummy yummy!! Everyone loved. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2010

      I made these into muffins for my children rather than a loaf. The only reason for 4 stars is that 1 cup of sugar is enough! I used butternut squash and mashed it myself. Flavours are wonderful. It made 20 large muffins. I made half plain and half with choc chips. The plain were great with butter, choc chip ones were great on their own. Thanks for the recipe - a keeper!!! Elizabeth

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2010

      I also used my own pumpkin, cooked and blenderized, and it worked out great. Instead of cloves I used cardamom, and I used part whole wheat flour. Overall nice warm taste and good texture. I do not have 2 loaf pans, so I put half the batter in a square cake pan. It worked well, and I could see making it again this way in order to top with a cream cheese icing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Pie Spice Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (102 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 392.1
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    34%
    Total Fat 15.1 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 344.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.6 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 37.9 g
    151%
    Protein 4.7 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites