Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Pie (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Pie (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on November 26, 2010

      I'd give this 4.5 stars if I could. This is an almost perfect pumpkin pie! The cream cheese gives it a lovely, light texture and it does have a hint of cheesecake-y-ness that works for most people. I mention that because there might be someone out there who isn't into cheesecake, in which case I'd recommend you stick to a more traditional pumpkin pie recipe. This was actually enough filling for TWO deep-dish frozen pie crusts; I pre-baked them to manufacturer's instructions, then lined the edges with tin foil, filled, and baked at 350 for 50min as instructed, and that was completely right. I served it room-temperature with freshly whipped cream (with just a touch of vanilla sugar added) and every single person, even my father, went back for seconds. The only thing I did differently was using about 1/3 less sugar, and it was still plenty sweet (but then, I'm not big on super-sweet pie). Next time I make this--and I definitely will--I'll cut back a little more on the sugar, increase the ginger and cinnamon by 1/2, and start with a home-made crust. This is totally a keeper.

      NOTE: For those of you having issues with cream cheese lumps, make sure you're using full-fat (not light or Neufchatel) cream cheese. Open the foil packet, and let it sit at room temp for a full hour. Cream the sugar and cream cheese with an electric mixer until completely smooth, then add in the eggs one at a time, beating fully between additions. You will have a very smooth filling, and any tiny bits that are left will bake out. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2010

      This is an incredibly delicious pumpkin pie.I made it last Thanksgiving and normally I'm not that wild about pumpkin pie but one bite of this and I was hooked!I ended up making another one the next day.Everyone really loved it.The cream cheese made it so creamy and gives it an amazing flavor but it's not too strong...not like a cheesecake.I used a frozen deep dish crust which I did not prebake.I just skipped step 2 and 3.Also unlike some reviewers I did not have any filling left over.I just had enough for one deep dish pie.I bet it would be really good with a graham cracker crust so I may try that next time.Other than not prebaking the crust I made it exactly like it says and I did add the ginger.It was so creamy and delicious...much better than a plain pumpkin pie I think. I can't wait to make this again next Thanksgiving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2011

      Delicious! A recipe that will be in the favorites file. I did use the light cream cheese and 3/4 cup sugar and it was perfect. I did also use a larger pie plate as well. A new favorite. Thanks for sharing this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      The flavor of this pie is AMAZING. Not too sweet, not too cream-cheesy, but perfectly balanced and decadent. I did increase the spice measurements, just because I like a very flavorful pumpkin pie taste. Other than that, taste-wise, this pie could not be improved. HOWEVER, I did run into some of the same pitfalls of other reviewers. Despite lots of mixing, the cream cheese remained sort of curdled / clumpy. I also had wayy too much filling for one pie. I used a graham cracker crust, which complimented the pumpkin-cream cheese flavor deliciously, but I haven't decided what to do with the leftover filling yet. Small issues aside, this is a great pie and I would make it again. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Great recipe - it does make enough filling for 2 pies, and mine took about 65 minutes for the filling to set. Baking the crust for 10 minutes before you fill it makes it come out very flaky - better than the usual "mushy" crust on the bottom. Be sure to cover the pie crust edging with foil... I made two pies, one I was careful to cover the crust, the other was not covered as tightly - and that crust burned! Will definitely make again, my Thanksgiving crowd devoured it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This is wonderful.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      OMG! This recipe is incredible! I don't think I could ever go back to regular pumpkin pie again. Thanks for sharing it, Sharlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      This was delicious, but it absolutely made two full pies--which isn't a problem, but I had to scramble around and make a second crust, since I was only prepared for the single pie the recipe promised. Rich, fluffy, and not overly sweet--great pie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      I loved this pie. It is light, creamy, and has just the right amount of sweetness. The cheesecake flavor is out of this world. I didn't prebake the crust like the recipe called for and it turned out great. This recipe is a keeper. Try it, you won't be sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2008

      Made this for Thanksgiving & served to aunts, uncles & cousins. It was a huge hit. It has a creamy texture with a subtle pumpkin cheesecake flavor. Beautiful color & so delicious that I was asked to bake more for the even bigger family get together today to finish off leftovers at lunch! Mom & I made this, old-fashioned pumpkin & dutch apple pies, and my aunt made apple pie. At the end of the night this pie was nearly gone while the others had just small "sample" portions missing. Hands down the winner! Thanks for sharing, Sharlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Great tasting pie, kind of like a cheesecake - everyone loved it. I am not sure why but I ended up with some filling that wouldn't fit in the pie crust. I took the extra filling and poured them into coated custard cups and baked at 350 degrees for 45 minutes. Yummy!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      Was incredible. For Thanksgiving made this, as well as 2 basic recipes that I have used and was liked in the past. Did a blind taste test for fun with all 13 of us there, and it was unanimous for this recipe. I took sharlene's route on the pie crust....worked out fabulously! Thanks Sharlene!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      This was very creamy, mild in flavor, and light, definitely a comfort food. It was also the first pie I have ever baked! I made my own 9" pie crust (another first) and filled it with this recipe. I had about 1 cup of filling left over but it's better to have a little to much than not enough! I live at a low elevation in central California (US) and baked it about 70 minutes (until the middle didn’t stick to a toothpick anymore)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2007

      great

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Very good and tasty. But there were a few problems with the consistency of the mixture. The cream cheese curdled and it was too liquidy. It came out enough to make 2 pies. I also had to bake them for 80 minutes. The next time, I will cut the milk in half and use 2 whole eggs to see if it will come out better. Still, the pies were very good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2006

      I found this recipe over on Food Network too and made it for Thanksgiving. This will be the only pumpkin pie I ever make. It is wonderful!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2006

      I made this for Thanksgiving and everyone loved it - said it was the best pumpkin pie ever! It cooked 20 minutes longer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      Awesome! Came out perfect. THANK YOU PAULA DEEN THIS IS THE BEST PIE SO FAR

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2013

      The best ever pumpkin pie! Although I did tweaked it a little instead of 8 oz Philadelphia cream cheese I cut that in half and added mascarpone to make up the difference. I also used Carnation baking milk instead of half- and - half. It turned out scrumptious! I used sweet short crust and prebaked it without weights, flaky and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Pie (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (167 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 572.8
     
    Calories from Fat 317
    55%
    Total Fat 35.2 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 18.2 g
    91%
    Cholesterol 166.5 mg
    55%
    Sodium 642.5 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.7 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 37.4 g
    149%
    Protein 8.7 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites