Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Pie Made With Tofu (No Milk or Eggs) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Pie Made With Tofu (No Milk or Eggs)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2010

      What a fantastic recipe! Even our most excellent grandma cook couldn't guess it was made with tofu. I've recommended it to many people. I gave it 4 stars rather than 5 only because the cinnamon is a bit heavy (I use 1 tsp) and it calls for 1 16 ounce can of pumpkin... but most small cans of pumpkin are 15 ounces. 2 cups might be a better description. When cooked as written with a 15 ounce can and baked in a 9" pan, our pie was a little shallow. This past weekend I found the sweet potatoes I had forgotten to cook for Thanksgiving, boiled and mashed them and used 2 cups to make this pie again... amazing!! Tasted just like pumpkin, and filled the 9" shell beautifully. If you want a crust without lard or butter you can use the old Wesson oil recipe (2 c. flour, pinch salt, 3/4 cup veg. oil, 1/4 cup skim milk). The combination is very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2004

      Wow! What a huge surprise this was. I'm not at all a tofu fan, but for health reasons am atttempting to become a vegetarian, hopefully a full-fledged vegan. Anyway, I thought I'd try this, fully and totally expecting to throw it out. No way could anyone tell, unless you told them, that there is tofu in this. Today I'm going to try and make it with a little molasses and splenda instead of brown sugar, to make it even better for me. Thanks a million.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2011

      If I hadn't made this pie myself you would have fooled me too! This pie tastes wonderful and is more healthy than its traditional counterpart. Thanks for posting. Made for Veggie Swap 34

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This was my first time using tofu in a sweet baked thing ever and it came out so fluffy, mousse-like and yummy! Mmmmm, everyone raved about this pie!
      It had the perfect balance of spices and was just great. I used freshly made pumpkin puree and reduced the sugar a tad to suit my taste, but other than that stuck to your recipe (going crustless with the pie as per the suggestion) and loved it!
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this true winner with us, Rita!
      Made and reviewed on Recommendation of free-free November 2010.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2005

      I chose this recipe for the I Recommend game based on Roosie's recommendation and because it sounded so wonderful to me. I had some problems with it but as I cannot decide if it was my fault (which it might have been), I am not attaching stars to my review. My pie (with no crust) was very flat and, for us, had way too much spice. I made this with the tofu I had (the only kind I buy because it fits the WW Core plan), and when I checked it later it was low fat. I also tried to sub. some of the sugar for splenda, and I wonder if that may have contributed to the problems. In re-reading Roosie's review it sounds as if the large amount of spice is to offset the richness of the tofu. Perhaps by using the lowfat tofu (which I realize the recipe specifically said not to do!) and the splenda I messed up the balance too much. A fabulous concept that just did not work with my subs. I may try it again though, and if I do I'll include stars. Thanks so much for continuing to have these wonderful healthy recipes, Rita!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Really cool recipe and a fun way to use tofu. I replaced the brown sugar with honey. Had a little honey undertone to it, but still the consistency of pumpkin pie. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      It was very creamy and hard to believe it's vegan. My guest was very impressed, so of course I shared the recipe:) Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2009

      Wonderful recipe-super as an Autumn treat...I like to bring this to gatherings...great for Thanksgiving...yummy crust-less as suggested and good with a pecan nut crust too for a super special treat...easy, tasty, vegan deliciousness-THANX ~Rita~!!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2009

      This is the best recipe for vegan pumpkin pie ever invented. My fiance and I make this every year twice a year for the holidays. One word: YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      Amazing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2008

      not sure if this had an odd taste because i didn't let it refrigerate long enough...or because i forgot the salt. but, still quite good - i'll be making this again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      I don't want to give this a rating yet because I think I messed up. I used the suggestion to skip the pie crust and use a pam sprayed pie pan, then I used brown sugar substitute (Sugar Twin) instead of the real thing. I may overdone it on the spices because I was worried about the tofu picking up enough flavor. So as I made it, it was not good; in fact we all tasted it and ended up throwing it out. I really like the concept and think tofu is a great substitute for milk and eggs. I will probably try this again in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      My first attempt at vegan baking for non-vegans, and everyone was asking for the recipe. I even used half splenda half sugar, to make the recipe even more healthy. Not only did the recipe taste great, but it was VERY easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2007

      I made a similar pie, but the recipe I used called for white sugar and only 1 teaspoon of cinnamon. As such, it was rather bland. The texture was great though and I'm looking forward to trying it again with brown sugar and more spices. I bet it will be great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2006

      Wow! This is a nice surprise. I have never baked with tofu before. I really love how easy the prep is. I used a refrigerated, prepared crust. I don't think this tastes EXACTLY like the general pumpkin pie, but I think it tastes as good. I can appreciate the health benefits of the soy and pumpkin also. I will have to try the next time without crust for even more reduced calories. Thanks for sharing your recipe and inspiring me to try a new ingredient.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      Considering that this pie has no eggs or milk, this is a great substitute! I thought there was a little too much spice. The pie tastes best if you cool it before you eat it, but while it's cooking, it fills your kitchen with the best aroma and you may not be able to wait for it to cool.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2004

      Highly recommended! The only other pumpkin pie I've made, honestly is the Libby's Famous Pumpkin Pie (see Libby's Famous Pumpkin Pie) that's on the back of the can of pumpkin. I haven't had it in a while, though. I this is actually surprisingly rich. I think the density of the tofu gives it that feeling. I like the fact that this has a fair ammount of spice- the spices aren't overwhelming and help to cover any tofu flavor that might show through. Lovely and pumpkiny- I usually prefer my pumpkin pie with whipped cream, but this is so rich-tasting that its great as-is. I scaled down the recipe to 2 servings, since BF doesn't like pumpkin pie and used the following measures: 4oz pumkin puree, 3 Tbs brown sugar, pinch of salt, 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/8 tsp ginger, 1/16 tsp each cloves and allspice (I just filled up my 1/8 tsp with half of each) and 2.5oz tofu. I don't like pie crust (I know, I'm a freak), so I followed your advice and just sprayed the dish with some canola spray first. Worked great. Honestly, I'm not sure how long I cooked this- Just sort of kept an eye on it. Definitely doesn't taste like this is made with tofu- it would be really easy to fool family and friends with this. Very tasty. Thanks Rita!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Pie Made With Tofu (No Milk or Eggs)

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 184.7
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    34%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 1.6 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 217.3 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.4 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 16.8 g
    67%
    Protein 3.4 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites