8 Reviews

My youngest son loves pumpkin pie. I usually make a couple each Thanksgiving. I'm not a piecrust master and didn't have any packaged ones. So I decided to do this instead. It was a very big hit with everyone. Just a little too sweet for my taste, I'll reduce the sugar next time and maybe experiment with some toasted nuts sprinkled over servings for a little more texture. Paired with a scoop of vanilla ice cream, this was The Bomb!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shelia T November 28, 2014

Made this to take to a family Christmas dinner. Got lots of approval and several requests for the recipe. I did substitute 1/4 tsp cloves for the nutmeg. (Not a fan of nutmeg), and I added 1 cup of chopped pecans to the top of cake before baking. Baked the cake for 55 minutes, because the center still looked a little runny after 45 minutes. Served the cake while still a little warm and topped with whip cream. Sensational! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheGrumpyChef December 26, 2008

This dump cake is a little more work than the standard dump cake recipe, but it's worth it. It would be a hard recipe to mess up. No need to measure everything exactly. Like me, you can use regular milk if you don't have evaporated milk on hand (or you can find a recipe for evaporated milk on zaar, but it's more work than it's worth). It'd be good with some granola or something crunchy on the top for texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scrambled Mama October 23, 2008

Way Better the next day.. It was a bit too runny after making it (even after letting it cool), so I stuck it in the fridge and it was GREAT the next day.. I have made other versions of Dump Cake which I prefer to this (for ease sake).. I gave this a "loved it" rating because my husband seemed to do just that...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Jen March 10, 2007

Very rich and much like pumpkin pie cobbler. I will reduce the sugar and add pecans next time for texture. This would make great tarts! Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kat's Mom October 16, 2006

This was yummy! I fixed this for daughter and son-in-law visiting from out of town this weekend. Everyone liked it althought a little too sweet. Even so, there WILL be a next time for this recipe. Next time, I'll try a little less sugar and cinnamon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
datadoll October 15, 2006

Wow, this cake is like eating pumpkin pie and cake all in one. Very delicious and extremely easy to make. I followed the directions exactly and will be making this many more times. My husband gave this an outstanding 5+ stars. Thank you Jody

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish Rose October 09, 2006

I almost never follow recipes, I changed just a little. I only used egg-whites. I used Splender rather than Sugar. I used fat-free evaporated milk, and I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 cup of applesauce rather than the 1 cup butter. It was great! My guess per serving Calories would be 350 and Total Fat at 12. Look for a low fat cake mix

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
julieann510 September 28, 2006
Pumpkin Pie Dump Cake