21 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Made these about a week ago and they were very good. It was perfect for the pumpkin craving without having all the stuff for pie. Would make again. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sconnie December 05, 2010

I made this for my office potluck and everyone said they liked it. I wasn't entirely convinced it was really a winner (maybe my office mates were just being nice) so I made it again for my bible study group. They absolutely raved about it and the entire dish was gone in 30 minutes. So - I'm a believer. It's easy to make and can be enjoyed by a wide range of folks. Thanks for sharing the recipe. I will definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
betsi.bell December 03, 2009

This is the traditional dessert of our grade school's Thanksgiving Feast. My kids love it and I have been making it at home for years. I'll be making it again this Thanksgiving for our family and friends It's a wonderful alternative to pie cuz kids love it too. Thanks for posting this gem Rhonda O!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chicagoland Chef du Jour November 17, 2009

I made this for company, when my friend showed up she came w/ the same dessert- LOL, I didn't tell her that I had made it too, I didn't want to take away from the specialness of her making & bringing it over-I'll tell her in the future so we can laugh. Then she asked if she could leave some, so of course I said yes. Now realizing I had one & half pans I decided I should bring mine to work to share, they gobbled it up everyone loved it! Some like it cold others liked it warm, all liked whipcream on top!!! The night I cooked it I let it cool & then just stuck it in the fridge, well the the next day I decided to read all the reviews, several said "better day of" so I was scared! Well we ate it 1.5 days later & neither I nor my work minded or noticed- Everyone loved it. I personally don't like Pumpkin pie but love pumpkin flavored things! The only difference I did was: I didn't realize this recipe called for Pumpkin PIE Filling, I bought canned pumpkin (is there a difference?) well I got scared & opened up a cook book & added the rest of the ingredients that are in a pumpkin pie: ginger, nutmeg, allspice, cinnamon brown sugar & reg sugar etc. So not sure if that changed the recipe or if its the same but either way we all love it! Thanks I will make again probably the same way. I will also go check the grocery store to see if there are two types of canned pumpkin. Thanks & sorry for the long review!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
newtocookingm&m October 25, 2007

I loved this recipe. I did make a small change though- I needed something I could take to a holiday potluck that wouldn't be too much of a hassle to bring, so instead of using a baking dish, I used cupcake holders and pans. As written, the recipe made 17 medium muffins. My VERY picky 10 year old daughter absolutely loved it, and asked if I would make these again when it's her turn to bring a treat for her Girl Scout meeting. Especially wonderful served slightly warm with some whipped topping (I had Cool Whip handy, but in the future, would probably make my own whipped cream).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KathleenP October 15, 2007

My 8 year old that will not eat anything helped me make these and gave them 10 stars. These are absolutly wonderful!! They are on my holiday cooking list already.. I can't wait to share w/everyone. Thank you for a NEW family favorite..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shamrockluver October 08, 2007

I live in Texas and can't wait for Fall (my fav time of the yr) so I wanted to make something with pumpkin and try a new recipe. I must be crazy, because I gave this 3 stars. It was good, and would be much better with cool whip, which I forgot at the store. I might make it again, and nuts would sure add to it. It was hard to tell if it was done, but set up good after it cooled.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Regina S. September 24, 2007

I got this recipe from a friend after she made it and brought it in to our office. Everyone loved it. I made it today as a change from our usual pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving. The only change I made was to sprinkle the dessert with some chopped walnuts before baking.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
okpat1 November 23, 2006

Been making this for EONS!! For the topping very cold butter works best cut into the other ingredients. I have also won many amateur cooking contests with this recipe. We never make pumpkin pie at the holidays, just this. Infact I just took it out of my oven an hour ago. It is rich, creamy and crunchy from the topping. Topped with a dollop of whipped cream it is pumpkin nirvana.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. November 23, 2006
Pumpkin Pie Dessert Squares