75 Reviews

It was probably somewhat drier than it should have been coz I over-baked it--oven problem. I subbed Splenda for the sugar but that was the only change I made. However, this was one of the very best desserts I have ever made. My husband raved about it. The only reason I made this was becoz of the great reviews. An over-the-top recipe has to be labor-intensive, right?? and it could NEVER include a *gasp* cake mix..right?? LOL..so easy and so good. Try it and you won't be disappointed. Thanx Marg, for a super- simple great delicious recipe! Chef Judi Coleman

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasChef Judi Coleman November 24, 2008

Amazing! Everyone loved it! Served it warm and it was crumbly but delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lmerks November 20, 2008

This is really really good and I will be making it for Thxgiving dinner next week. I made a trial run yesterday but only using half of the mixure and baking it in an 8 x 8 dish. I was worried the 50 minutes would be too long but it came out just fine! I will use less sugar next time as it was pretty sweet....but some people like that!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
renm310 November 20, 2008

Rave reviews all around!! I threw this together in no time flat for our Bible study last night, and everyone LOVED it! Even my husband (who is not usually a fan of desserts) had 3 or 4 servings! This was exceptionally good with coffee! This is a recipe I will make many, many more times I am sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AprilShowers November 03, 2008

Delicious! Awesome! Couldn't stop eating! This taste GREAT with some vanilla ice cream. I made it just the way it was written. But I think i would use less butter next time. It tasted like pecan & pumkpin pie mixed together.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JAG0913 October 29, 2008

That recipe was a big hit. I made 2 because I only used half the cake mix for each pie and half a cup of margarine to put on the top but it did not last long because they loved it. I just made another one but I only put half the sugar because I found it too sweet the first time. Thank you for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeannetess October 23, 2008

Fantastic flavor and so easy to make! I will be making this again real soon the first went so fast! I used a 15 oz can of Libby's (just add an egg and evaporated milk type) and just noticed I never added the 1-1/4 cup of sugar, but you would never know it was sweet and yummy just the same!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2mckinnon December 22, 2007

This recipe is excellent!!! I new family tradition, I believe. Thanks for sharing. Several people asked me for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom to 3 in WI December 17, 2007

I made this for our Thanksgiving dessert and it was great. It is now a family favorite. After reading all the other reviews I did decide to use a 1/2 cup of butter and I used 1 small box of Jiffy yellow cake mix. It worked out well and had the perfect texture. Thanks for sharing and I am glad that others have shared such great reviews and tips also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~*Shannanigans*~ November 27, 2007

This was a hit with the family! We used about half the butter and it was still awesome.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Zoanna November 26, 2007
Pumpkin Pie Crunch