75 Reviews

An outstanding easy, delicious recipe that everyone loves!!! I have taken this to several parties and it is loved by everyone. It is a must that you bake it in a 9 x 13 pan and serve with whip cream

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rosie December 16, 2001

this is VERY easy and oh so YUMMY!!!!! a family favorite!!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
XSoftSense November 15, 2001

i served this to my card club this month, they all loved it and asked for the recipe. i give it a 5 star rating

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sheila Brown October 29, 2001

So good! Used 1/2 cup butter and 2/3 of the cake batter. It didn't come out as thick as I had hoped, so I just layered the pieces on top of each other (looks like a layered pie, crust and nuts on the bottom with crust and nuts in the center) and added whipped cream on top. It came out SUPER DELICIOUS!!!! Layering it is definitely is a good idea!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gmorita11 November 12, 2015

Very good! Used the alternate amounts recommend for the butter and sugar, but used 1/2 of the cake mix, next time I will use the 2/3's as recommended.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debilyn_Ks November 10, 2015

Yay, I found a recipe I have been using and which I get requests to make... so glad I don't have to input it myself. Thanks for posting! : ) This is delicious and my extended family prefers it to pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef TanyaW March 24, 2015

My family has been making variations of this recipe for years. I use spice cake, about a cup of sugar, a stick of butter (we prefer rich desserts during the holidays), and walnuts. This is indeed a forgiving recipe, so by all means adjust to your own tastes. It's very good with a dollop of whipped cream or a little ice cream.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shanna K. November 01, 2014

This was absolutely delicious! I read the reviews and decided it was going to be too sweet for me also, so I did change some of the ingredients. I did it differently than most reviewers. I figured cake mix has the right amount of sugar if you like cake so I cut the sugar added to the pumpkin to 3/4 cup and used 3/4 of the cake mix and a little over half the butter. It turned out perfect!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kbcountrymom January 07, 2012

Where is the button for ten stars? I absolutely love this dessert and I make it every year. Smooth pumpkin on the bottom with a crunchy nut topping, and creamy whipped topping. UMM! Fantastic recipe! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ginny Ax September 25, 2011
Pumpkin Pie Crunch