Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin-Oat Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin-Oat Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on September 01, 2008

      This was a great quick breakfast!These taste good and they're filling and easy, too! The pumpkin gives it a lovely moistness. I loved the oat bran. I used 1/2 all purpose flour and 1/2 whole wheat pastry flour. I will make these again. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      I made these for breakfast this morning - delicious! I used whole wheat pastry flour in place of the all-purpose flour, and low-fat buttermilk instead of skim milk. I like the fact that they're healthy and low-fat, and not too sweet. I'll definitely be making these again, trying the variations suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2008

      I was looking for a low calorie baked treat and these may fit the bill. They are not sweet at all, so I may want to dust with a little sugar on the top (not much, just enough to add sweetness to the crispy top. I added flax seed like one of the other reviewers and I don't think I'll do that next time, I feel like it took away from the bran and pumpkin. added: I made the apple version today and liked them even better. It may be because I didn't add flax seed or because they were a little sweeter, I'm not sure, but they were good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2008

      I made a couple of small changes based on others reviews. I used half each oat & wheat bran. I made the apple variety which is shown at the bottom of the page. It's such a nice easy recipe I think you could change it to suit whatever fruit ingredients you have on hand. Thanks for posting this recipe! GG

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I really like this muffin. It doesn't have the usual BRAN flavor..(a plus in my opinion!) but you can really taste the pumpkin and the muffin is nice and moist. Best of all...they keep me full. I'll be freezing these individually so we take take them out as we need to, for snacks etc. Thanks so much for a tasty bran muffin! My search has ended!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      Smelled wonderful! Added some vanilla & used whole wheat flour. Oh, and wheat bran! Added a little mini choc chips for that extra sweetness, and used half Splenda brown sugar & regular Splenda. These are for a dear friend who I will probably not get to see again, so I hope she likes them! Thank u for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2007

      These are the first "healthy" muffins I've made that actually came out good! I loved these. I added a dash of cinnamon, 2 Tbs ground flaxseed, 1/2 C chopped pecans and 1/2 tsp vanilla. Oh, and two whole eggs. They came out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      I subbed apples for the pumpkin and it turned out wonderful. Awesome with a little of cream cheese icing on top !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2007

      Delicious and healthy...made them with Vanilla Soymilk and it worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2007

      Delicious muffins! I doubled the recipe and found that one 15-ounce can of pumpkin had about 1 3/4 cups, so I added about 1/4 cup of applesauce to equal 2 cups for the pumpkin. Used 1/2 cup of egg substitute instead of egg whites, but otherwise followed instructions. This will become a muffin regular at our house. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      these were delicious! i love the texture the bran gives it. i had to sub some of the oat bran for wheat bran... ran out. i also added some vanilla and some pecans and reconstituted raisons!! mmm mmm. they dont puff up much but they are good and dense, i cooked mine at 405 for 18 min and got exactly 12 from this recipe. they do tend to dry out fast, and are not the best frozen and reheated.. best eaten immediatly. thanks. i love pumpkin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2007

      These are very good, and NOTHING like the dry rocks I associate with the words "low fat" and "bran". They are very moist, and the bran adds a nice texture. I didn't have pumpkin pie spice so I added 1/4 t each of cloves, nutmeg, allspice, and cinnamon (that one was heaping). I really look forward to making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2007

      These are very dense muffins! They are really great straight from the oven. Good source of fiber & protein, so these made an excellent afternoon snack for my kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2007

      A very good recipe! I used half wheat bran and all whole wheat flour, half Splenda and half brown sugar - my one complaint is that they were almost too "starchy" and I think sticking to at least half all-purpose flour may have remedied that. I used my own spice blend, and apple butter in place of (most of) the vegetable oil, and then some! I was surprised that I had plenty of batter to fill all 12 "cups", I kept adding more to finish it off. I also mixed some left over pumpkin butter with light butter spread, and used that on the muffins. To be honest, I think that's what brought it up to 5 stars.. oh, not to mention the health-packed benefits of this recipe. Awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2007

      These were the first whole wheat muffins that I made that actually rose above the pan! I filled the tins almost full and they still made 12 muffins. I used 1 C oat bran and 1 C whole wheat pastry flour. Also used the spices from another pumpkin muffin recipe "Pumpkin Muffins". I think I'll have to try the pumpkin pie spice next time as the spices I added were a bit too much for me. I added about 1/4 C apple butter bcz I was short on pumpkin. Used 2 eggs (forgot to separate!) Used Sucanat for brown sugar. Will update on taste when rest of family tries it! My DD liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2006

      These were very good, but I thought needed more flavor. I will bump up the spices next time, and maybe add some grated orange peel or something. I added two whole eggs, and the texture was a little heavy, so I will try just the whites next time. Good way to get some flavorful fiber in your day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2006

      These muffins are SO tasty! I've been looking all over for healthier muffins that aren't just low fat, but low calorie and packed with fiber. These definitely win on all counts! I added 2 TB flax seed, and subbed 1/2 the flour for whole wheat as other reviews suggested. I added extra cinnamon as well, about 2 tsp and used 1 egg instead of 2 egg whites. I also added 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1/2 cup raisins. These are perfect muffins, soft and flavourful. I'm definitely making these often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2006

      These just didn't do it for me. I liked the taste (I doubled the pumpkin pie spice), but the texture wasn't to my liking. I found them way too heavy and dense.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2006

      These muffins taste really good. However, I agree with Crazyboutcooking that they could use some extra cinnamon. Also, I substituted half the oil for applesauce and I used wheat bran instead of oat bran. I used paper muffin tin liners but I won't next time because the muffin stuck to the paper. I also love how low in calories and fat these are!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2006

      These are yummy! I love the texture. They were a hit with everyone. Next time, I will use a little more spice. Maybe some extra cinnanmon. I will try the apple-oat soon,too. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin-Oat Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (758 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.1
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    25%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 127.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes