74 Reviews

I love this recipe. I have made it 3 times now with different variations: apple cinnamon, pumpkin, and banana nut chocolate chip is now in the oven. I use whole wheat flour and applesauce and add a splash of vanilla. I cook mine at a lesser temperature for about 15 minutes and they are perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bobbin January 10, 2010

YUM! YUM! YUM! These are the best bran muffins I've ever had; even my husband loves them. I've made both the pumpkin and the apple versions, and both are delish! For the apple, I used 1/2 c chopped apple (we used a sweet variety) + 1/2 c unsweetned applesauce. I also used 1.5 tsp apple pie spice vs just the 1 tsp as called for (same case for the pumpkin pie spice in the orig recipe-- I used 1.5 tp v just 1 tsp). I plan on making a banana-blueberry version next, and maybe a carrot cake or orange one. Btw, someone said these muffins were too heavy? Well, they are bran muffins, not cupcakes. lol I found these muffins to be deliciously hearty, healthy, and moist!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chesapeake Bay Gal October 11, 2008

wow - not sure what i did wrong, but these were pretty awful. Dry, burnt, and no rise. I followed the instructions exactly, even though I was a little concerned about baking them at 425 when all my other muffin recipes call for 400 degrees. Should have gone with my intuition. Because of all the other positive reviews, I can only assume that there was something not right in my ingredients or the baking temp. Really wanted to like these. :-(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
susan September 28, 2015

Delicious, and healthy (but they don't taste "healthy"). I made with 3/4 c. mashed banana instead of pumpkin/spice, and also added 3/4 c. mini choc. chips (because they were for my kids). SO much better than the sweet cakey store-bought muffins. The kids and I both loved them!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kristinpotter January 16, 2013

I've made this several time and forgot to rate it and I don't know why because it is so good. I use ground oatmeal as I have that instead of oat bran. The flour is 1/2 white and 1/2 white. I added 2 Tlb. ground flax seed, some dried cranberry and chopped nut. So nice to have a healthy muffin. This is a definate addition to the muffin rotation.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea in NH September 28, 2012

10 stars! A wonderful healthy option for a muffin. I increased the spice as per other rewiewers recomendations. Very nice warm with a cup of tea

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catherine Robson July 29, 2012

Yummy. My only change was to switch out half the oil with applesauce. Delish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gopintos November 21, 2011

I tried regular brown sugar and the brown sugar splenda mix, and the splenda mix made for WAY BETTER muffins. I believe it's because the sugar substitute is 200 times sweeter than regular brown sugar. I used whole eggs instead of egg whites. They were very moist and tasty. People loved them. Thanks for the recipe! Yum Yum!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MissMom June 10, 2011

Amazing! And so healthy! BF has actually requested these several times now. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MsBrittany February 21, 2011

These were absolutely a fantastic muffin. They were soooooo moist and yummy. A very healthy muffin. Thanks for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn January 25, 2011
Pumpkin-Oat Bran Muffins