Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin-Oat Bran Muffins Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin-Oat Bran Muffins

    Average Rating:

    73 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 73

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2003

      These were good. I did forget the all purpose flour, because I forgot to write it down (my printer don't work). However I still enjoyed them very much! VERY MUCH! I added 1/4 tsp. Cinnamon, and 1/2 tsp vanilla, as well as some raisins and chopped pecans. They were very nice. I am going to save one for my breakfast tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2003

      Yummy, nutritious (beta-carotene from the pumpkin and fibre from the oat bran), and low fat... what more could I ask for in a muffin? These muffins were good warm as well as cold in my lunch the next day. The only thing I'd change would be to add some raisins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Very moist and tasty muffins. For this recipe I added whole eggs and used wheat flour. I also sprinkled pumpkin seeds on top of each muffin. Then using the back of a spoon I pressed the pumpkin seeds down into the batter so they would not roll off while baking. It made for a pretty muffin (see above). Next time I would like to add a bit more Pumpkin Pie Spice or perhaps cinnamon or ginger to kick the flavor up a bit. These would also be great with cranberries. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2012

      Unbelievable! Based on some of the reviews, I used 1 1/4 cup of oat bran, and 3/4 c whole wheat flour instead of the white flour. I also added a little extra cinnamon and a sprinkle more ginger. Then I added dried cranberries at the end. I baked 14 of these in regular size muffin tins at 415 (my oven runs hot) for exactly 20 minutes -- and they came out perfect! Thank you so much for posting, I will make these again and again!
      Update - day 2 - these are even more delicious cold! With the addition of the cranberries, I may go a little lighter on the brown sugar next time - just out of preference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Terrific! I made it into a 7 x 11 cake and put some cream cheese frosting on it. I used whole wheat flour, added 2 T. melted butter, and subbed some agave nectar for some of the brown sugar. I don't like things very sweet, and this was just right. Moist and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2011

      Great recipe. I was looking for ideas on a Sunday morning and didn't have all the correct ingredients so I substituted old fashioned oats for the oat bran and 1/4 c Splenda brown sugar blend and whole wheat flour. I also added pecans and raisins. Despite my messing around with it, they turned out yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      I really like these muffins. I tend to eat very healthy, and I love the Zen Bran Muffins that they sell at Trader Joe's and Whole Foods. I'm always looking for similiar muffins that I can make. I followed the recipe, but I used WHEAT BRAN instead of oat bran, SPLENDA BROWN SUGAR instead of real brown sugar, and WHOLE WHEAT FLOUR instead of white flour. I used about 2 TEASPOONS vegetable oil instead of 2 tablespoons. It came out very good and moist-tasting. It made 6 large muffins.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2010

      Like many, I cut the oat bran to 1 cup and upped the flour (ww pastry flour) to one cup.I used 3/4 t cinnamon, 1/8 t cardamom and a pinch of cloves and ginger. I used "egg beaters" and kept the 2 T oil. I also had about 1/2 cup of mini chocolate chips because spoiled DS loves chocolate chips in muffins. Not an over-sweet muffin. Tasty and fun to make.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2010

      We love these muffins. I have made them with both pumpkin and apple. Both were wonderful! The only change I made was I omitted the oil and added a splash of milk instead.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      nice! because of what i had on hand, i used wheat bran, sf syrup instead of brown sugar, and omitted the vegetable oil. like this, these muffins only have 52 calories each, no fat, and nearly 5 grams of fiber! thanks so much for the recipe! MADE AGAIN with soymilk, no oil, egg beaters, and splenda brown sugar blend - this is an AWESOME muffin and around 100 calories - one WW point!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      I love this recipe. I have made it 3 times now with different variations: apple cinnamon, pumpkin, and banana nut chocolate chip is now in the oven. I use whole wheat flour and applesauce and add a splash of vanilla. I cook mine at a lesser temperature for about 15 minutes and they are perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      YUM! YUM! YUM! These are the best bran muffins I've ever had; even my husband loves them. I've made both the pumpkin and the apple versions, and both are delish! For the apple, I used 1/2 c chopped apple (we used a sweet variety) + 1/2 c unsweetned applesauce. I also used 1.5 tsp apple pie spice vs just the 1 tsp as called for (same case for the pumpkin pie spice in the orig recipe-- I used 1.5 tp v just 1 tsp). I plan on making a banana-blueberry version next, and maybe a carrot cake or orange one. Btw, someone said these muffins were too heavy? Well, they are bran muffins, not cupcakes. lol I found these muffins to be deliciously hearty, healthy, and moist!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      Delicious, and healthy (but they don't taste "healthy"). I made with 3/4 c. mashed banana instead of pumpkin/spice, and also added 3/4 c. mini choc. chips (because they were for my kids). SO much better than the sweet cakey store-bought muffins. The kids and I both loved them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2012

      I've made this several time and forgot to rate it and I don't know why because it is so good. I use ground oatmeal as I have that instead of oat bran. The flour is 1/2 white and 1/2 white. I added 2 Tlb. ground flax seed, some dried cranberry and chopped nut. So nice to have a healthy muffin. This is a definate addition to the muffin rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2012

      10 stars! A wonderful healthy option for a muffin. I increased the spice as per other rewiewers recomendations. Very nice warm with a cup of tea

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2011

      Yummy. My only change was to switch out half the oil with applesauce. Delish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2011

      I tried regular brown sugar and the brown sugar splenda mix, and the splenda mix made for WAY BETTER muffins. I believe it's because the sugar substitute is 200 times sweeter than regular brown sugar. I used whole eggs instead of egg whites. They were very moist and tasty. People loved them. Thanks for the recipe! Yum Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2011

      Amazing! And so healthy! BF has actually requested these several times now. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      These were absolutely a fantastic muffin. They were soooooo moist and yummy. A very healthy muffin. Thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2011

      I love these muffins. I used whole pastry flour, butter instead of oil, substituted 1/2 tsp of each nutmeg and ginger and 1 tsp cinnamon for the pumpkin spice, and added just over 1/2 cup sultana raisins. I baked these for about 22 minutes and although some were a bit crispy on the edges, inside they were so moist. I'd add more of the spices next time, but that's just personal preference. I really enjoyed these and will be sure to bake them again. Thanks for the awesome recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin-Oat Bran Muffins

    Serving Size: 1 (758 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.1
     
    Calories from Fat 28
    25%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.2 mg
    0%
    Sodium 127.4 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 9.2 g
    37%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites