139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

5 stars for ease and creativity. I did add 1 cup water. They did not need eggs or anything to rise properly. They had a light and fluffy texture. However, I could barely taste the pumpkin. It tasted like yellow cake. Maybe I will add some spice next time, or use spice cake mix. Please keep in mind that while these are low in fat; like most "low fat" things, they are high in sugar!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rebam98 November 14, 2007

a very nice tasting and texture muffin. I sprinkle some sugar and cinnamon on the tops when I took them out of the oven. This is a keeper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Iron Mary November 06, 2007

These are sooooo good! I was not brave enough to go eggless so I added one. I also added nutmeg, allspice and cinnamon. My 6yr old son said, "Mom these are so good they don't need butter or anything!" Brought these to church and they were a hit. Taste like pumpkin pie! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachelm November 05, 2007

This was very good and a simple to make recipe. I added 1 tsp. pumpkin spice, 1/2 cup chopped walnuts, raisins, and chocolate chips as others suggested. I made it for a block party this afternoon and many people raved about them, and two asked for the recipe! I thought they were a wee bit too sweet for my taste but still very good, and DH liked them a lot. There are so many different ways to make this recipe and by changing to a different cake mix and adding or varying the additional ingredients, it makes for an entirely DIFFERENT muffin. Great idea! Wonder who ever thought of combining these two items! Thank you for posting, Teresa!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maggie in Florida November 03, 2007

These are amazing! While I'd defintitely call these cupcakes, not muffins, they're superb. I used a box of reduced-sugar yellow cake mix, a can of pumpkin, 2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice, and 1/2 cup of lowfat milk. I frosted them with a fat-free cream cheese icing. Perfect for Halloween!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sierra Silver November 01, 2007

STELLAR Muffins!!! I made them with a carrot cake mix, divine. Thank you so much for the recipe. My cooking class that I teach made these and the rest of the staff here kept coming in and saying "What smells so fantastic?" Will make again and again and again...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef ladyinblue3 November 01, 2007

ETA: Made these again, but used spice cake mix and added 2/3 cup of water and the raisins. I much prefer the texture with the water and will continue to make it with this one change. Makes a lighter muffin. --- Original Review: Very nice recipe. I am always looking for eggless things to make b/c my DD is allergic. I volunteered to make something for her halloween party and these are perfect. I made a batch tonight to test it out and she loved them! I got 24 muffins, but could have had another one if we didn't eat a couple spoonfuls of batter...YUMMY! I took the advice of many and added my pumpkin spices - salt, ginger, cinnamon and cloves. I also used Betty Crocker Super Moist butter Recipe Wite mix. The combo was very nice together! I belong to myfooddiary.com and build this recipe in their recipe builder so I could add it to my journal today. For 25 muffins, it shot back 92 calories, 1.6 grams of fat, 19.2 carbs and 1.2 grams protein. This is a keeper, not only for DD, but for me as well! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trixyinaz October 30, 2007

These were great! I used yellow cake mix and added a teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice like others recommended and scooped them into muffin papers using an ice cream scoop. This gave me 14 muffins. Baked them at 375 degrees for 17 minutes. I'm definitely making these again! Thanks for such an easy, economical recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
the6-sranch October 26, 2007

I made these with a dark chocolate cake mix and added pecans. They tasted amazing but I couldn't taste the pumpkin. They were very moist. I plan on trying it with the spice cake mix for more of a pumpkin flavor. This would be a great way to get kids to eat more fruit without knowing it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefCathy October 15, 2007
Pumpkin Muffins