139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! These are GREAT! I used white cake mix and added a little cinnamon to the batter. My boyfriend asked if I could start making these every week! How could I say no? Great muffins that aren't loaded with calories and fat! We're health nuts so these are perfect for us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eclipsante February 14, 2009

My girls LOVED these. I added nutmeg, cinnamon and some nuts. I have not tried them yet, but they are a healthy snack for my girls and that deserves 5 stars. Thank you for this easy, healthy treat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tifdblpn December 08, 2008

I was looking to use some leftover pumpkin puree, and this recipe turned out great! The muffins were moist and very flavorful. I added chocolate chips to mine, and that made them scrumptious! I also added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg, 1/4 tsp allspice, cloves, & ginger, and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract, to give it a little kick. Finally, I threw in 2 tbsp no sugar added applesauce for a little extra moisture and flavor. I used white cake mix (it was all I had!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmaJoy November 26, 2008

Fantastic...i was wondering how they would rise w/out the eggs but my goodness they were moist and delicious. I used a little water on my finger tips to pat the top of batter after I put in the muffin papers...hats off to you teresa2.(plus i'm tryin' to lose 10 lbs and I love my sweets)....deb

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
deb November 04, 2008

I love these muffins, they are so tasty for being so low in calories/fat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kristiina November 03, 2008

Like the person below, I had tried this Hungry Girl method to make brownies and it worked well, so I was eager to try these out! I used spice cake mix and added nothing else - and man are they tasty! :) My only complaint is they are a little bit more gooey than regular muffins, even after I cooked them longer than the box recommended. I don't mind it so much for taste, but if you are trying to travel with these muffins (I'm always on the run!) it makes them a bit messy. I was only able to get 12 muffins out of this recipe though. But anyway, all in all it's a keeper! Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megs_ November 02, 2008

I got this recipe from the Hungry Girl cookbook. She calls them brownie muffins because she uses chocolate cake mix, which I also did & they were really good. The pumpkin is used as a substutite to all the higher fat ingredients. People do not realize that these muffins are not suppose to "taste" like pumpkin muffins. They are low-fat muffins. So for those of you looking for a pumpkin flavor muffin, this one is not for you, but I thought they were great since I am on the WW program!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelle3312 October 08, 2008

I love this recipe. I've made it number of times. The first time I made it I used a yellow cake mix and added pumpkin pie spice. I then tried the spice mix and now use that when I make them. I don't add any additional spices, the mix has enough for our tastes. I use an ice cream scoop and get 16-17 muffins to a batch. Sometimes when I'm super mom I mix a little butter, milk, powdered sugar and vanilla together to make a thin frosting. I know it's not WW but it sure is good. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookee monster October 07, 2008

Based on the fact that this has few ingredients, takes little time, and is so easy to make, I think it deserves a 5. I still prefer the taste of regular muffins, but this is great when craving something fresh out of the oven in minutes. The texture is heavier than a regular muffin, but not as heavy as I expected. I got 12 muffins and a mini-loaf. As per several reviews, I added pumpkin pie spice. I used Substitution for Pumpkin Pie Spice Substitution for Pumpkin Pie Spice, and put in the full amount, which was 2 3/4 teaspoons of spice. I think it was a good amount, and the house smelled delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mark & Stacy October 03, 2008
Pumpkin Muffins