139 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I thought they were very good. I just added 2 tsps. of pumpkin pie spice to pick it up a little.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carolyn Buffington December 13, 2001

These are so good and easy. I tried with a spice cake mix and added some pumpkin pie spice (trying to use up the dozen or so containers I've accumulated over the years) and they were awesome. Then I tried it with a yellow cake mix and pumpkin pie spice....they were good. Then this morning I used carrot cake mix and they were really good. My family likes them and I like the fact that they are super easy!!!!! I used a 29oz can of pumpkin and 2 cake mixes and the results were the same. These muffins also freeze well!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Mom of 7 October 31, 2009

I am going through a cooking frenzy.....must be the approaching Fall. Anyway, had a can of pumpkin in the pantry and a yellow cake mix and I thought that there wouldn't be a thing that I could make. But, lo and behold, here was your recipe. I read all of the reviews and added the following to the recipe (according to other reviewers).....2 tsp. cinnamon, 1 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 tsp. cloves, raisins, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/3 cup white sugar and about 1/3 - 2/3 cups of water. I know that's a lot of additions, but the muffins came out WONDERFULLY. I used mini muffin pans and got 38 mini muffins, BUT I put way too much batter in each cup, so I could have gotten a LOT more minis. Thanks for such an easy recipe. I think next time I'll try a spice cake recipe.... This is a MUST try! The only problem with the mini muffins is that I keep popping them in my mouth and all of a sudden seven are gone....gulp...better stop!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tree luee dee September 08, 2008

This recipe is easy and good. I do recommend that you add one egg and 1/4 cup water to a yellow cake mix. I also added 1/4 cup coconut oil; that really made it good. The next time I try it I will include a little cinnamon.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bunnytwo November 05, 2011

I made this with a spice cake mix and added 1 egg and 1egg white with 1/4 cup of water and baked it for 25 minutes @ 350...they turned out light and fluffy and wonderfully moist....next time I'm going to add a fat free cream cheese mixture to the center because they remind me of the starbucks version ......awesome!!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
simplygr8 October 22, 2011

I love making these muffins! my kids love them too! i add a half cup of cinnamin chips to the batch. They are just like chocolate chips, but cinnamin flavor, they are hard to find, but so worth it!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rcjc121104_11707582 March 21, 2011

So good and simple to make! I used carrot cake mix, added in 2 shredded carrots (because who wants carrot flavored pieces when you can have real carrot!) and a tablespoon of pumpkin pie spice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aimeeturner8117 November 04, 2009

Try this one, you won't be sorry. What's not to love? It's easy, very tasty and only *95* calories. I would highly recommend this one. I added a little cinnamon and nuts for an extra flavor boost. These would be a great snack on a hike, or just in the middle of the day when you feel like a nibble. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
N@ January 01, 2009

These are great muffins. And if you are having a chocolate attack try chocolate cake mix with pumpkin! Oh, It is so good!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Me'Shell September 27, 2008

Wonderful! I seen this recipe today and wanted to try them so much that I used a rainbow chip cake mix because it was all I had. They look a little funny with the colorful little chips in them, but they taste great! I can't wait to try it with a spice cake mix. Oh, and I added 1 tsp cinnamon.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tecrz March 03, 2008
Pumpkin Muffins