Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    The Perfect Roast Turkey

    How-To: Tackle Turkey Intimidation
    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    16 Show-Stopping Sweets

    Apple, Pumpkin & Pecan Pie: Oh My!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Ice Cream Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Ice Cream

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on September 28, 2009

      This review only gets 3 stars from me because it got so hard in the freezer that we could barely eat it. I loved the flavor and it is like eating frozen pumpkin pie. However, I didn't realize that by leaving in the freezer for several hours it would harden so much - not like normal ice cream (guessing bc of the high content of pumpkin). I have it sitting on the counter right now, thawing it out. I can't even scoop it from the container. Again - the flavor is very good, but if you make it, check it frequently in the freezer so you get the desired consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2010

      yummmm. i used all 1/2 and 1/2 since i had no cream. Next time, I'll cut the sugar down a bit. thanks for posting, I'll definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2010

      Terrific ice cream. I had no half-and-half in the fridge so had to use skim milk instead, but it still tastes delicious. I generally add a half teaspoon of xanthan gum (health food aisle at the grocery store) to all my ice creams before putting them in the machine, and it does wonders for the texture and scoopability. I also always use Splenda instead of sugar with great success. This is a very yummy pumpkin ice cream and will definitely stay in our rotation. Thanks, Sue.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2013

      For the people who had issues with the texture -- I learned a trick from another recipe.<br/>Pumpkin can be grainy, so you can strain the mixture through a sieve before you put it in the ice-cream maker. I added a pinch of salt and 2 teaspoons of Grand Marnier, and it was fine.<br/>I served it with toffee bar cookies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2013

      I'm not sure if the recipe amount for the cream and half n half are correct. I followed the directions with no changes. The texture was weird and is was not creamy like ice cream should be.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2012

      We used 1/4 c white sugar and 1/4 c brown sugar, and I reversed the proportions on the dairy (1 c half-and-half with 2/3 c cream) to reduce the fat a LITTLE bit. It was... good, but not great. I think it may have had a touch too much ginger and not enough cinnamon for me. We used it as the filling for Frosty Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie (Oamc).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2011

      Made this recipe this morning out in the garage since it's so stinkin' cold out there! Turned out perfect. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I'm going to make some crunchy gingersnap cookies to crumble over it and we'll have it for dessert tonight. Two of my sons already taste-tested it and they loved it! Thanks for posting.

      Update: I made Crunchy Ginger Snaps (Similar to Arnotts Gingernut) to go with the pumpkin ice cream and they are YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2009

      This recipe is about the same as the one that came with my Cuisinart ice cream maker. It's really good and refreshing. I add graham crackers to mine. Tastes just like a pumpkin pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2009

      What a terrific recipe! This is like eating a frozen pumpkin pie. I used 1 cup of light vanilla soymilk and 2/3 cup of skim milk, because that was what I had on hand and I couldn't wait to try it. I tasted the mix after adding 1/3 cup of sugar and that was sweet enough for us. With these changes, I really made pumpkin ice milk, but it was delicious. Next time I will use all soymilk for a creamier taste. We loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2008

      This ice cream was great! Very easy to make and tasted just like a pumpkin pie filling. Next time we would add chunks of graham crackers to the ice cream. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      The best ice cream I've ever made!! Unbelievable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2008

      Our 6 year old told me 3 times while I was making this that he did not like pumpkin ice cream, but when it was finished we talked him into giving it a try and he changed his mind and even asked for seconds. :) A great and easy recipe, my sweetie loves it, will make it again for thanksgiving diner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      My family loved this as part of our Thanksgiving dessert. It has a very rich, intense flavor which paired nicely with a warm praline topping!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      Loved it!!! Tasted just like pumpkin pie but as a rich and creamy ice cream. We sprinkled a little graham cracker crumbs on top too. This was a great dessert to pre-mix and then just throw in the ice cream maker while we were cleaning up dinner dishes. Thanks, Sue!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Very yummy, and very easy to make! This will be our dessert this Thanksgiving ... we'll be serving it with gingerbread cookies. I made certain to use my high-quality Penzey's spices, rather than standard supermarket spices -- I think it made a huge difference. This was very rich and flavorful -- just terrific. Thanks for posting it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2007

      This was a fun treat!! :) I don't like pumpkin pie but this was great! Thanks for posting, Sue L!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2007

      I made this recipe just the other day and it was delicious! I spread it in a premade graham cracker pie crust to make an ice cream pie and then placed a dollop of cool whip on top. It was soo good and everyone loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2007

      Tastes just like pumkin pie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      This is really good - a nice, easy recipe and definitely better than anything you'd get at the store! The spices give it a nice "pumpkin pie" flavor. I didn't serve it with praline topping, but at my husband's suggestion, mixed in some graham cracker crumbs to make it even more reminiscent of pumpkin pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Ice Cream

    Serving Size: 1 (121 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 194.9
     
    Calories from Fat 104
    53%
    Total Fat 11.6 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 19.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.3 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 17.5 g
    70%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes