20 Reviews

This review only gets 3 stars from me because it got so hard in the freezer that we could barely eat it. I loved the flavor and it is like eating frozen pumpkin pie. However, I didn't realize that by leaving in the freezer for several hours it would harden so much - not like normal ice cream (guessing bc of the high content of pumpkin). I have it sitting on the counter right now, thawing it out. I can't even scoop it from the container. Again - the flavor is very good, but if you make it, check it frequently in the freezer so you get the desired consistency.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leahcooks September 28, 2009

yummmm. i used all 1/2 and 1/2 since i had no cream. Next time, I'll cut the sugar down a bit. thanks for posting, I'll definitely make this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShortieNJ September 18, 2010

Terrific ice cream. I had no half-and-half in the fridge so had to use skim milk instead, but it still tastes delicious. I generally add a half teaspoon of xanthan gum (health food aisle at the grocery store) to all my ice creams before putting them in the machine, and it does wonders for the texture and scoopability. I also always use Splenda instead of sugar with great success. This is a very yummy pumpkin ice cream and will definitely stay in our rotation. Thanks, Sue.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin R. January 02, 2010

Like others mentioned, this tastes just like pumpkin pie... Unfortunately, after you add up the costs (cream isn't cheap!) and time involved (about an hour and a half in a traditional ice cream maker) in making it, it just seems like too much work for too little pay off. Next time, I will just buy a pie, freeze it and eat it frozen..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annbradford24 October 23, 2015

For the people who had issues with the texture -- I learned a trick from another recipe.<br/>Pumpkin can be grainy, so you can strain the mixture through a sieve before you put it in the ice-cream maker. I added a pinch of salt and 2 teaspoons of Grand Marnier, and it was fine.<br/>I served it with toffee bar cookies.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cjv622 October 09, 2013

I'm not sure if the recipe amount for the cream and half n half are correct. I followed the directions with no changes. The texture was weird and is was not creamy like ice cream should be.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flutterbye51 September 28, 2013

We used 1/4 c white sugar and 1/4 c brown sugar, and I reversed the proportions on the dairy (1 c half-and-half with 2/3 c cream) to reduce the fat a LITTLE bit. It was... good, but not great. I think it may have had a touch too much ginger and not enough cinnamon for me. We used it as the filling for Frosty Pumpkin Ice Cream Pie (Oamc).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DrGaellon October 03, 2012

Made this recipe this morning out in the garage since it's so stinkin' cold out there! Turned out perfect. I doubled the recipe with no problems. I'm going to make some crunchy gingersnap cookies to crumble over it and we'll have it for dessert tonight. Two of my sons already taste-tested it and they loved it! Thanks for posting.

Update: I made Crunchy Ginger Snaps (Similar to Arnotts Gingernut) to go with the pumpkin ice cream and they are YUM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Piper Lee December 14, 2011

This recipe is about the same as the one that came with my Cuisinart ice cream maker. It's really good and refreshing. I add graham crackers to mine. Tastes just like a pumpkin pie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
thisgurlluvs2cook July 19, 2009

What a terrific recipe! This is like eating a frozen pumpkin pie. I used 1 cup of light vanilla soymilk and 2/3 cup of skim milk, because that was what I had on hand and I couldn't wait to try it. I tasted the mix after adding 1/3 cup of sugar and that was sweet enough for us. With these changes, I really made pumpkin ice milk, but it was delicious. Next time I will use all soymilk for a creamier taste. We loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggie_mama July 08, 2009
Pumpkin Ice Cream