14 Reviews

This was a good...I also added a can of chickpeas(drained) to have more of a hummus tastiness and consistency :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Italian_mama February 16, 2010

This is a favorite of ours. we use cilantro instead of parsley.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Black Apron November 21, 2009

Great recipe I made this last year as a Thanksgiving appetizer and loved it! Definately let it sit over night!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tara917 November 18, 2009

This was actually good, thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bonbon 82 July 01, 2009

This is definitely unique, and you can't beat the wonderful color and pumpkin flavor for a fall dish. I served this is at a football party, where it seemed to get a pretty neutral reaction. Most people thought it was fine, but didn't go back for more. It certainly has a strong pumpkin flavor, so I would make sure that the people you are making it for really like pumpkin. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews October 21, 2008

I really didn't love this. It kills me to say that though because it is such a great idea! It was a little to runny for my tastes. It also needed more of a kick (and I did add hot sauce). I'd love some suggestions about how to kick this recipe up a bit. Thanks for the great idea FloridaGrl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender July 25, 2008

I loved this recipie and of course, tweaked it to my own particular taste the second time around as a good 'zaar-ist' should. I used 3 tablespoons of plain yoghurt and subbed tablespoon of garlic/ginger paste for clove of garlic; subbed cayenne for red pepper; added one more tablespoon of cumin and omitted the parsley. Just my own take on a certified 5 star recipe! THANK YOU for the inspiration!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lokicat April 10, 2008

This is delicious! If you like hummus, you've got to try this recipe!! The only thing I do differently is use yogurt instead of tahini. I prefer the consistency I get with the yogurt instead. Oh, also I used two cloves of garlic...I can never get enough of garlic :-) Make sure to add the parsley; it makes a huge difference in the flavor! Yum! 5 stars! ~Di

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chaiandallthatjazz December 09, 2007

I made this yesterday as a kick off to my mom/brother's birthday lunch. I served it with different crackers and apple slices. I did add about 2 tsp of garlic purree instead of 1 (which equals about 1 clove). I also added a bit more red pepper and a tiny bit more (about 1 1/2 tbsp total) tahini. It seemed a bit bland for my buds- as I'm used to 'peppery' hummus. It did get wonderful reviews and I'm sure that it's better today than yesterday- I made it and served it the same day- Letting it sit overnight would have given the flavors time to mingle more. Thanks so much for posting! I'll be making this one again! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Megan Krape October 29, 2007

Just made this and it is fabulous!! I did use 2 cloves of garlic (I can never use just one), but didn't want the garlic to over power--it was great with 2 cloves. I also used a bit more lemon juice and cut back a smidge on cumin. Oh--used lots of parsley as I love it. I served it with some crackers that I had on hand. I think this would be great with many things including as a sandwhich spread. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paws in Hand March 09, 2007
Pumpkin Hummus