Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Thanksgiving Tips & Ideas >

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    50 Ultimate Side Dishes

    Make Sides They'll Be Thankful For
    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    3-Ingredient Appetizers

    Fabulously Easy Feast Starters
    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    Adorable T-Day Sweets

    The Kids' Table = The Place To Be
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake (Paula Deen) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake (Paula Deen)

    Average Rating:

    118 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 118

    Sort by:

    • on November 30, 2005

      I haven't made one of these yet, but a woman I work with made some (She made enough for each of us other women to bring home with us) for our company Thanksgiving Dinner and it was delicious. I did not realize the same recipe was on here until after I had asked her for it. Hers does have some notes on variations that I thought some of you might be interested in: 1. Pineapple Gooey Butter Cake - Substitute one 20 oz can of crushed pineapple, drained thoroughly, to the cream cheese filling & proceed as directed. 2. Banana Gooey Butter Cake: Prepare cream cheese filling as directed, beating in 2 ripe bananas instead of pumpkin. Proceed as directed. 3. Peanut Butter Gooey Butter Cake: Use a chocolate cake mis for the crust. Add 2 cup creamy peanut butter to the cream cheese filling instead of pumpkin. Proceed as directed above. Thanks Yooper for entering this recipe on Za'ar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      Paula Deen may have appropriated this recipe, but it's not hers. This is a common take on the gooey butter cakes that have been passed around the mid-west for years. Needless to say, it's a great take on a good recipe. The BASIC recipe has the same 'cake' part, but the top is 1lb powdered sugar, 2 eggs, 8 oz cream cheese, & 1t vanilla mixed on high (with hand mixer or blender) for 3 minutes, then poured over the top. With this 'basic' formula you can make no end of modifications: add chocolate chips or chopped candy bars or firm fruit (blueberries, strawberries, apples-but add spices with this one) or whatever else your heart desires!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2003

      This cake was wonderful. We liked it much better than pumpkin pie. The bottom turned out chewy like a brownie and the top was creamy. The cake had a slight butterscotch flavor to it. I used pumpkin pie filling and omitted the nutmeg. The cake turned out a little too sweet for my taste but that's my fault because I didn't reduce the amount of powdered sugar to compensate for the sugar in the pumpkin pie filling. DH took some of this to work and his coworkers raved. Three people asked him for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2003

      Made this twice so far and it is delicious. I only bake 40 minutes second time and it was better than when I did it the whole 50. More gooey and yummy. Had to pass this one on 3 times already.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2012

      This was tasty stuff. I made it for a work potluck but missed out on the party because I was working in a different building at the time (boo!) so I brought it back home to snack on. I LOVE the texture, but I think I somehow didn't add enough sugar because it wasn't as sweet as a typical gooey butter cake. Still super tasty and I will certainly make this again, possibly with a little extra sugar or a brown sugar-pecan glaze on top.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2012

      I made this once for Thanksgiving and it was such a hit that I gotta make it every year for Christmas too! Super easy and delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2011

      Who knew you could use a blender to transform granulated sugar and cornstarch (1 cup/1 tsp) into powdered sugar? (Thanks, Google!) haha I had already begun to make this when I realized I didn't have powdered sugar. I also used about 4 oz of veg oil because I didn't have enough butter. That being said, this recipe is a yummy alternative to pumpkin pie. Mmmmm. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      Wanted to leave my two cents after having made this for Turkey Day with my new in-laws. :) Actually, I found this recipe a few years back (this exact one ;)) and made this for TD back then. It gained me HUGE culinary props from the family, as it was their favorite dessert that year. Decided to make it this year, not really going for the "Wow" factor, but simply wanted it. LOL. Turns out, I am now the "Gooey-Butter Cake Guru" and have been told I'm not allowed to bring anything BUT this for holidays from now on. The only thing I did differently was I only used about a quarter of the box (16oz) of powdered sugar just because that's MY particular taste. And honestly, it turned out just as perfect as the very first time I made it. Fantastic Gooey Cake! Thank you for sharing!! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2003

      I made this for Christmas dinner and it was so incredibly good. I baked mine for 45 minutes and it was just right. Deliciously rich and gooey. There wasn't one crumb left by the end of the day. Thanks for posting, yooper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2003

      This recipe is from a very recent episode of Paula Deen's show on Food Network. She has a basic recipe for Butter Gooey Cakes, and this is one of the variations. I made it the week it aired - I believe it was her Halloween show and it truly is a 5 star recipe. Very, very rich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      This was ok. We enjoyed it. I have never made the traditional gooey butter cake so we didn't have a marker to compare it against. Not sure I would make this again. But the flavors were good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2014

      This is pretty good. Between this or the original Gooey butter cake, I would rather have the original, however.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2014

      Was great...however I had this burning desire for the pumpkin pie blizzard from DQ and used the last of my pumpkin to make this soooo.....I had an idea....I put this pumpkin butter cake in the blender with a little milk and a good amount of vanilla icecream.....topped with whip cream and nutmeg...omg sooo good! Then on round too did the same thing but added oreos...HEAVEN!!!!!!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2013

      I made this for a potluck and it didn't last long! I enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2012

      I made this for a work potluck and left with an empty pan! :) Everyone loved it and the little taste I got was absolutely delicious. Definitely not an everyday dessert as it is crazy rich, but wonderful for special occasions! Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2012

      Yummo!

      Made these into mini cupcakes and topped with cool whip. Fantastic seasonal dessert, my friends raved about them.

      Next time I'll try substituting the cinnamon and nutmeg for pumpkin pie spice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2012

      I hesitated to even rate this, because I really don't like giving negative feedback. But As I don't know Paula Deen personally, and care not if I offend her, I have to say...ugh. Instant Type II diabetes on a plate, The only reason I gave it any stars at all is that I served it to a group of ladies (bridge club) who DID love it---but, frankly, these darlin' gals would eat sugar right out of the sack, so...hmmm. This is the last time I ever make a recipe with "Gooey" in the title. (Actually, this may have been the FIRST time I ever did!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2011

      If you LOVE pumpkin pie, you'll LOVE this dessert. 2nd time I made these. The first time I used only 1 cup of powered sugar because that's all I had in the pantry. I thought it was good. Today, I followed the recipe to the T and it's SO delicious and had more of a punch in taste. Taste even better when it's cold w/cool whip on top. I used Better Crocker Super Moist 15.25 oz yellow cake mix. This will definitely be the dessert comes Thanksgiving and Christmas. Thank you for sharing this amazing recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2011

      I made this for my family last night. They thought it was the best cake they had ever put in their mouth. It was so soft and creamy. Thanks for posting this wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2011

      Took this to a church Canadian Thanksgiving luncheon today and it got rave reviews. I added a 1/2 teaspoon of each of the spices ginger, cloves and allspice besides the cinnamon and nutmeg for a more pumpkin pie taste - it went quickly. Thank you yooper for your post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Gooey Butter Cake (Paula Deen)

    Serving Size: 1 (206 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 683.7
     
    Calories from Fat 308
    45%
    Total Fat 34.2 g
    52%
    Saturated Fat 17.6 g
    88%
    Cholesterol 149.2 mg
    49%
    Sodium 605.5 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 89.9 g
    29%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 68.3 g
    273%
    Protein 6.7 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes