39 Reviews

This was a huge hit at Thanksgiving. I followed the advice of a couple of people who had reviewed the recipe. I made all of the components the night before, refrigerated them overnight, and put the trifle together in the morning. I think this kept it from getting soggy. I also made my own whipped cream instead of using Cool Whip. Finally -- my own idea -- I cut the gingerbread into 1 - inch square pieces rather than crumbling it. I believe this made the trifle look more attractive. I will definitely make this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
c.aaron November 28, 2009

When I saw this recipe I knew it would be a happy ending dessert for our Thanksgiving dinner. I made it with a little help from my DW and between the two of us we did an awesome job! I used real homemade whipped cream, and it was just like I imagined it would be, delicious! Tony

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tonythurston51 January 10, 2009

I had a work party at my house last week and server 4 different trifles. this one was the favorite. Reviewed by 50 people. Thanks L

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laureen in B.C. November 01, 2008

Excellent! It wasn't nearly as sweet as I thought it would be. The flavors went together perfectly. I made the gingerbread for this recipe from scratch last week and froze it till I was ready to use it. I realized last minute that I only had canned pumpkin and not pumpkin pie filling. I added ginger, cinnamon, all spice and nutmeg to the plain pumpkin and that worked out fine. I also used freshly whipped cream instead of cool whip. I'm sure I'll be making this again. The perfect dessert for a crowd. Thanks for posting this yummy recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview December 26, 2011

I've made this twice, the first time using the brown sugar in the recipe and the second time without. If you don't like your desserts overly sweet - eliminate the brown sugar! The first time it was cloyingly sweet. The second time I also made my own un-sweetened whipped cream in place of the cool whip. This was good, and really pretty if you pipe on the last layer of cool whip for presentation purposes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Black Radish October 16, 2008

Made my own gingerbread and used real whipped cream. Unbelievably good.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Saremca October 21, 2007

I also changed a few things. First, I drizzled a little bourbon over the gingerbread-it really gave it a nice kick! Also, in addition to the cinnamon & cardamom, I added a little nutmeg and ginger (to taste) and I sprinkled crushed gingersnaps between each layer to give it some crunch. This recipe was a HUGE hit when I brought to Thanksgiving dinner at my MIL's house. *EVERYONE* had some for dessert and ignore MIL's homemade pies!! I've been asked to bring it to the annual Xmas Eve party. YUM!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rockinred December 16, 2004

This is delicious! It makes a lot(more than what my trifle bowl will hold) I think next time I'll halve the recipe. I also did not add the brown sugar because I didn't feel that it was necessary.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef AngieW December 29, 2014

I am a huge pumpkin lover, and while I thought this was really good, the gingerbread was the predominate flavor and kind of over powered the pumpkin. So the next time I made it with a plain yellow cake instead of the gingerbread and liked it much better. Just personal preference. This makes a lot, which is okay, because what didn't fit in my trifle bowl went in individual cups. The the trifle went to a birthday dinner, the individual cups stayed home for the family.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom December 03, 2014

I LOVED this! It was easy, pretty and tasted amazing. I do not have a trifle bowl, so I used two clear glass bowls. This is perfect for the holidays because it tastes like a lot of effort but isn't! It does make a lot, though. it would easily fill a glass punch bowl.If I was making this for my family of four I would half the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Retro Kali November 02, 2011
Pumpkin Gingerbread Trifle