12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummmmy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GoBugsy October 07, 2011

Everyone loved this -moist but not too dense. I used butter instead of oil since that's all I had - thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
klkscanner December 09, 2009

This bread was very tasty. Based on the other comments I ended up adding an extra tsp of ginger and it turned out great! Thanks for posting a tasty pumpkin bread.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babycat October 20, 2009

This is wonderful! Very moist and the combination of spices is just perfect. I made this last night for gifts and divided it into 3 smaller loaf pans. (Baked 50-55 minutes.) It was so good I have two more loaves in the oven right now to take for Christmas morning breakfast at my grandparents' house tomorrow.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soup Fly * December 24, 2005

Excellent recipe! One reviewer is right in that it's more like pumpkin bread than gingerbread. I often use heaping tsp of ginger. My cloves are potent, so decrease cloves to 1/2 tsp, allspice to heaping 1/2 tsp. I've made this to serve with breakfast while working at a B&B. I make in a tube pan, and serve with fresh whipped cream. A streusel topping sprinkled on top before baking is also nice, as is fresh orange zest added. It stays moist very nicely. For muffins/cupcakes bake 20 to 25 minutes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JoyceJoann October 26, 2013

This is a wow recipe, nice and moist and full of flavor. I have made it as a bundt, full loaves and mini loaves. And you don't need to have molasses on hand to get that gingerbread flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade #3 November 16, 2011

AMAZING!! This was a huge hit in our home!! Thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShayLyne81 October 23, 2010

i made this for christmas last year and now had to search zaar for it since i forgot to review & save. so good & so moist i wouldnt change a thing! i've saved this in my "definate keeper" cookbook so i wont ever lose it again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catalinacrawler December 22, 2008

I honestly didn't taste much difference between this recipe and my favorite pumpkin bread recipe. I was looking for a something that married two of my favorite tastes together, but this wasn't it. It was delicious for what it was, but I would have liked more ginger flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nonnie4Two December 26, 2007

This stuff is freaking amazing! I used it to make a bread pudding, and boy was it tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
aquiggle December 29, 2005
Pumpkin Gingerbread