8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The first time I made this it did not set and was grainy. My dd's enjoyed dipping apple slices in it. So I read up on fudge making, realized my errors and tried a second time. Delicious

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree November 23, 2007

Something went very wrong with this recipe. Everything seemed to be going fine until the very last step. The step that calls for you to cool and then beat until the fudge is no longer glossy. I did this, but within a minute, the creamy fudge suddenly became very thick and grainy. So grainy, in fact, that the pieces were falling apart and not staying together as I pressed it into my pan. SO, I'm not sure, but maybe that last step just needs clarifying? I probably just mixed it too long, but I'm not sure how "too long" is. *EDIT: I tasted the fudege, and it is really good. I did a little research and found that there are a lot of specific rules to making fudge, and that by breaking one or two of these, I created a grainy fudge (like other reviewers). So I suggest anyone attempting this recipe should first read up on fudge making. Great tasting fudge though, even with the off texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
onipar October 21, 2007

Loved it - I think I will cut down on the allspice a bit next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MtnWmn October 25, 2006

The taste was wonderful. It was a little too grainy in texture for me though.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stacy1107 December 02, 2005

Wonderful flavor. . .decent texture. It was a little bit grainy like I had added too much sugar. Still, very tasty and I had substituted lite soy milk for the 1 cup milk.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Babushka November 04, 2005

This fudge got rave reviews this Thanksgiving! It bears repeating that you must work fast at the end! I placed the fudge squares on a tray, on top of a paper doily. Then I arranged some autumnal sugar decorations (usually used on cupcakes and cookies) on the fudge and around the tray!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrsniano November 26, 2004

Absolutely wonderful! Just what I was looking for. Very easy to make as long as you are quick. My daughter loves it so much I make it twice a month now!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amberly Hall July 07, 2004

WOW!This fudge is so yummy!!It took awhile for my candy thermometer to reach the 236 degrees but it was well worth the wait!!I would recommend very strongly though that you work quickly with the adding of the spices and margarine as this fudge starts to thicken fairly quickly once you begin to stir it. I even had to pat the mixture down into the pan once this started and I had to work very quickly so as to not end up with a big blob in the pan!!Good recipe,Recipe Fairy!!I will make again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boyz 5 February 24, 2004
Pumpkin Fudge