32 Reviews

I cannot begin to tell you how good this fudge is. The first time I ever tried pumpkin fudge was last fall at Cabela's, and I fell in love!! I knew that I was going to have to find a recipe so that I could make my own!! This recipe is so close to that!! I followed the directions to a T and the texture is soooo creamy and smooth!! I think next time I will increase the pumpkin pie spice by 1/2 teaspoon. It was very good as directed but I love my pumpkin spicy!! Thank you so much. Addendum: Just wanted to leave a little note... I loved this fudge so much I decided to give it out as favors at my October wedding. I made 6 batches and cut it into 2 inch squares and placed each square in a decorative box. The only things I did differently were to add 1/2 tsp of additional pumpkin pie spiceto each batch and I did not add the chopped pecans into the fudge mixture. I wanted to be able to cut the fudge smoothly, so I bought some candied pecans and put one on top of each piece. Our guests loved it! I can't tell you how many people asked for the recipe! Thanks for helping to make our wedding extra special by posting this awesome recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lacy S. November 23, 2009

Tonight was my first time making fudge and it was a lot easier than I thought! I took on board what several people said about not being shy with the spices and I upped the pumpkin pie spice (UK "mixed spice") to 3 tsps, plus added another 1 tsp of cinnamon. I wd definitely recommend this -- this quantity of fat and sugar can definitely take it, plus it makes for a richer color. Also, for the record, I added 1/8 tsp. salt AND substituted plain marshmallows for the m. creme and it worked out just fine. Thanks for the great recipe (it's posted so many times on food.com, I figured it must be great!). (Addendum: that tiny quantity of pumpkin gets lost in all the other ingredients -- the next time I make this I'm going to use a whole can and see what happens!)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DoubletheGarlic September 26, 2011

This fudge is excellent; pretty color, smooth texture, and a wonderful creamy pumpkin flavor. I took others advice and increased the Pumpkin Pie Spice to 2 tspns, and it was perfect. NOTE: Step #4 is important. Be sure to remove your pan from the heat BEFORE adding white chocolate chips. Then stir gently until melted, before adding remaining ingredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SJMG November 28, 2009

This fudge is wonderful! The fudge did start to to clump up when I added the white chocolate chips, but I put the pan on a low heat and stirred like crazy-this smoothed it back out. I added the chopped pecans and this added flavor and great texture to the fudge. I love this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugar³ October 24, 2009

It took forever to get to softball stage! Then when I added the white chocolate, it cooked it, causing the whole mixture to turn into a grainy, crumbly mess. I would recommend adding a time to cool the mixture before adding the white chocolate. The flavor was excellent, but I couldn't serve it to anyone due to the texture.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
annie2271971 November 20, 2007

Not sure what I did wrong, but mine came out grainy and crumbly. But it did have a good taste! Maybe I cooked it too long (which would mean I need a new candy thermometer), or maybe I stirred way too long (I added the chips and ended up stirring for 18 minutes trying to get the chips to melt, finally gave up). Either way, I will be trying this one again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bcfdwife November 27, 2013

My husband has been making fudge for years; so our grandson made the Pumpkin Fudge and brought it to us to try. We just added a new flavor to his annual fudge production. Delicious!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Margaret R. November 20, 2013

I had pumpkin fudge for the first time last month at Bate's Nut Farm in Valley Center, CA. It was amazing. So amazing in fact, I considered having it shipped to me! I made this recipe after reading the reviews yet added cinnamon and extra spice as suggested however, it was still not quite right. The 2nd time around I used pumpkin pie mix from a can instead of pure pumpkin and added 3tsp of pumpkin pie spice in total....nailed it! So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AMBH November 21, 2012

I made this a year ago and I forgot to review it. It was great. I do not like fudge, but I ate a lot of this. Our house does not like white chocolate, so we did not have any. I used regular semi sweet chips instead. I also added dried cranberries. I will make this again this year.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coppercloud September 27, 2012

The fudge itself tasted very good but it never set even after leaving in the freezer for 24 hours. I think the amount of marshmallow creme should be reduced next time. Also I tripled the pumpkin pie spice as others recommended. I would also half the recipe next time since a 9x13 pan is a ton of fudge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KAVrana December 26, 2010
Pumpkin Fudge