10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I found putting a lid on them while cooking really helped them firm up faster.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The FDD Lady July 25, 2011

I made these fritters today- the spicy cinnamon ( and I added a dash of nutmeg) are a divine smell on a cold autumn day. I am from South-Africa so these made me real home sick and best of all my hubby, friends and family loved it!!! Will defnitly make it again!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elizej October 31, 2009

as a Malay Slave Descendant, I am delighted to learn that we have contributed something so tasty to society. At least something good has come out of our suffering!!!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cashmorewendy August 15, 2009

outstanding - ex South Africian

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jushilli August 17, 2009

I absolutely love fritters! Sweet or savory, it doesn't matter. Just point me in the right direction. And look where I ended up!! Delicious, Zurie. Like Syd, had to drain in a strainer, and I was using pumpkin saved last fall and vacuum frozen. Still had a lot of moisture, thus the draining. Worth waiting for. Thnx every so much for posting, Zurie. Made for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darkhunter June 25, 2008

It took a long time for the canned pumpkin that I used to rid itself of a lot of it's moisture, but after sitting out for half a day in a strainer, it finally did! And, per the suggestion of another reviewer, I added not some raisins but some dried cranberries, & the resulting fritters were OUTSTANDING & although next time I'd like to do the recipe exactly as is, the way I made them this first time gave me a very tasty dessert! [Made & reviewed while touring Africa during the Zaar World Tour 4]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike June 24, 2008

No stars because my homemade pumpkin was not dry enough, and so I ruined a batch of these. Makes me sad because they sound so good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cruby December 05, 2006

I loved this recipe. So easy and absolutely yummy.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mandy-H August 17, 2006

I just wanted to add that the fritters are delicious if you add a handful of raisins to the batter before you fry it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rowena May 18, 2005
Pumpkin Fritters, South African Recipe