65 Reviews

Woof woof woof woof woof means 5 stars from my furkids! These were so easy to make! I used whole wheat flour and chicken broth instead of water, only because I had it on hand. These biscuts will become a regular treat for my dogs! Thanks for posting!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paulette February 10, 2003

P.S. I baked these on a pizza screen and didn't have to turn them halfway through-and they cooked in 20 minutes very nicely!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CherylQuiltNut July 21, 2010

Rascal gives these a two paws up! I roll them out and cut them with the pizza wheel. The dog follows me around the kitchen from the time I get the ingredients out until I take them out of the oven. They are his favorite treat! Thanks Kim for a real puppy pleaser. UPDATE: I started out making these biscuits with white flour and then switched to wheat, thinking they would be healthier. Rascal developed allergies and though the vet thought that the cause was environmental, he suggested cutting out wheat just to be on the safe side...so we're back to white flour and Rascal could care less one way or the other. ;) They're still his favorite.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deely September 13, 2009

I breed Westies and all my babies LOVE these! If your dog has a wheat allergy, you can try using potato flour. Just add a little more water, and it turns out the same. The dogs can't taste the difference! You can substitute potato flour for wheat in any dog treat recipe.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WestieLuvr August 31, 2009

Fantastic! My doggies come hunt me down and start barking and begging for these biscuits. I have never seen them act like they do about these biscuits. I increased the recipe to use a full 15 oz can of pumpkin. You can always refrigerator or freeze dough for later use. If you have a stand mixer use it with the dough hook once you've added enough flour to make it difficult with the paddle.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pcallahan97009 February 02, 2010

Gidget, my seven month old yorkie, absolutely loved these and they were easy to whip up. I changed the recipe so I could use a whole can of pumpkin and make a bunch to share with other tailwaggin' friends.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heather_mae October 22, 2010

These were great. I made some to send to my daughter's two Great Danes for Christmas and re-rolled the leftovers and cut out stars for my three little dogs and our cat, who thinks she is a dog. All four loved them. I don't have a bone cookie cutter but got 12 big Christmas trees plus quite a few little stars. I'm making these again for Christmas for some friends' dogs.Thanks so much for a great recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea November 27, 2009

I have made these a few times now - I normally double the recipe and give some away to friends. I like to use brown rice flour (buy from bulk section of grocery store) - the dogs love them and I feel like they are healthier because there is no gluten - we have English Bulldogs, the breed tends to not always have the best health, so we like to be proactive.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melissa Nyhus February 21, 2014

Easiest dog treats EVER, dogs love them, and they don't stink up the kitchen! I used extra pumpkin & used oat flour because I don't give my dogs wheat (and btw people, white flour IS wheat, it's just not whole grain- if your dog has an allergy to wheat don't use white flour!!) and they came out perfect. To make them extra crunchy I turned off the oven when they were done & left them in there for another 1/2 hour or so. Will make these often with variations. Thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bvisailor February 23, 2013

Awesome recipe! I also have one dog that is allergic to wheat, so I used gluten free flour. The recipe worked very well and the dogs love it! Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NanWolf September 06, 2012
Pumpkin Dog Biscuits