Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Pumpkin Custard Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Pumpkin Custard

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 22, 2003

      I made this with some fresh pumpkin that I cooked and pureed. I then poured the whole thing into a round pie pan and baked it. It was like crustless pumpkin pie. I called it pumpkin kugel and served it right along with the main course. I did not bother with the apples, and used soy milk and the brown sugar. It was great hot and I was eating the leftovers cold the next morning. I really liked this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2010

      This was very good and incredibly easy to make. I'll be experimenting with a coconut milk-based dairy-free version.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2009

      This was tasty, but not really a custard. As others have stated it tastes like pumpkin pie filling. It's good and easy though. Good warm or cold.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2008

      I am always seeking ways to enjoy desserts while maintaining my abstinence from sugar.... this recipe did the trick! I used "Log Cabin Sugar-Free Syrup" and made the most amazing custard for a Holiday Party! Topped off with a dollop of whipped cream sweetened with a little Splenda and a touch of vanilla... No one knew it was sugar-free and EVERYONE raved!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2007

      We had this at a Christmas Eve brunch thrown by butterscotchgirl and it was supurb! Lovely and so cute served individuallly. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      very nice! a great pumpkin food - almost like pumpkin pie without the crust. the flavor was perfect, and the consistency was rich and dense like pie, not like a fluffy egg custard. my type of dish - well done! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      We used our last pumpkin to make this a couple of days ago. What a treat! I have never been a fan of pie crust, so this was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2007

      Lovely dessert! I served it somewhat warm with real whipped cream. I substituted xylitol and 3 tiny scoops (1/16 of a teaspoon? Not sure the measurment) of stevia extract for the sugar and no one could tell it was sugar free. I was out of ground ginger so I substituted a 1/2 teaspoon of pumpkin pie spice and I also added an 1/8 teaspoon of maple flavoring. Instead of using ramekins I cooked it in a glass pie dish underneath a pan of water. I'm not sure why another tester found this gritty-it was quite smooth and light when I made it. Thank you for posting this Sharon123!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2006

      We were eager to sample the treat and had our desserts just 40 minutes out of the oven with a dallop of sweet vanilla yogurt. The custard was smooth, creamy and rich with a lovely maple flavor that distinguished it from a pumpkin pie filling. In an effort to reduce the calories - made mine with splenda and 1/8 teaspoon of maple extract. What's left from tonight is cooling now and we will have it cold with apples tomorrow. Thanks Sharon! (Update 11/06: Just wanted to say that this has become my standard Thanksgiving and fall dessert. Light, easy and comforting. I usually use Splenda --either white or brown as my sweetner of choice.) Thanks again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2004

      This was a subtle dessert with layers of flavor. Not very sweet, just sort of a mellow taste. Some bites were gritty and I couldn't figure out where that came from (I used the maple sugar), but it was a nice light custard.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2002

      I've been on an orange food kick lately, focusing mainly on pumpkin, my new favorite vegetable. This was pretty good, but I didn't like it after it had turned cold. I would serve this warm from the oven, it has a very sweet and mellow flavor that I loved, but would love more warm!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Pumpkin Custard

    Serving Size: 1 (206 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 200.5
     
    Calories from Fat 18
    63%
    Total Fat 2.0 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 73.0 mg
    24%
    Sodium 128.5 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.5 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 32.0 g
    128%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes